Research Guides: Environmental Science: Water Resources

Water Conservation & Management

American Rivers
Colorful, highly detailed and easily navigated, this site provides information on national river conservation and management (includes 25 of the most endangered rivers).
International Water Law Project
Info on international access to and maintenance of water sources.
Life Cycle of Drinking Water Systems
Life cycle assessment of drinking water systems: bottle water, tap water, and home/office water delivery (2009) Oregon Department of Environmental Quality.
USGS Water Resources of the US
Provide water information that benefits the Nation's citizens through publications, data, maps, and applications software. USGS Water-Resources offices are located in every State. Includes national water survey, stream flow conditions (e.g. floods, droughts, water quality, ground water), science topics, water resource programs.
2007 Agriculture Census by Watershed (USDA)
This contains agricultural census information performed every five years, and it is organized by watershed (interactive map).
USGS National Water-Quality Assessment (NAWQA) Program
NAWQA provides an understanding of water-quality conditions; whether conditions are getting better or worse over time; and how natural features and human activities affect those conditions. Regional and national assessments are possible because of a consistent study design and uniform methods of data collection and analysis.

Smithsonian's American Museum of Natural History

Take a look at the Exhibition by American Museum of Natural History.
http://www.amnh.org/exhibitions/water/

Water unites us
Every language has a word for water; no living thing exists without water. It soothes the spirit and sustains the body; its beauty inspires art and music. Employed by cultures around the world in rituals and ceremonies, water bathes us from birth to death. Water is essential to life as we know it. And as it cycles from the air to the land to the sea and back again, water shapes our planet—and nearly every aspect of our lives.

Water Resources of the US (USGS)

The United State Geological Survey is the place to start water research!

It contains a wealth of info about water in the United States, such as national water surveys, current water and stream flow conditions (e.g. floods, droughts, water quality, ground water), science topics, water resource programs. And it links to State USGS offfices throughout the nation, plus browse for state & local info via maps.

http://water.usgs.gov/

Main topics include:

Streams, lakes, and reservoirs (Science to observe, analyze, and understand the movement and condition of surface water)
Groundwater, aquifers, and wells (Science to discover and describe the location, condition, and behavior of water in the ground)
Quality of water resources (Science to monitor and evaluate biological, chemical, and environmental factors affecting water quality)
International water activities (Ongoing water projects of international interest)
Floods & droughts (Study the conditions and consequences of water over-abundance or scarcity)
Water use (Information about how water is used now and in the past)
Contamination & pollution (Study the existence and results of harmful substances in water, produced by humans and natural processes)
Methods & Models (Available tools and expertise to conduct water resources science)

Oregon Water

City of Salem, Oregon, Public Works Department
Public Works Department constructs and maintains the infrastructure necessary for the basic urban needs of the Salem, Oregon, metropolitan area. This includes a safe and reliable road system, healthy and plentiful water supplies, a well-functioning storm drainage system, and proper treatment of wastewater.
Northwest Waterfall Survey
Northwest waterfall survey of Oregon, Idaho, and Washington. Includes a database of information (browse via maps), the "best" northwest waterfalls to visit, a database of waterfalls around the world, and waterfall photography.
USGS Oregon Water Science Center
USGS Oregon Water Science Center: a wealth of info on surface water, groundwater, and water quality in Oregon and the Nation. Includes water data, plus interpretations of data to Federal, State, and local agencies, Tribes, and the public. This data and study results are widely used to manage Oregon's water resources for the benefit of both people and our environment.
Water Quality Nonpoint Source Pollution (Oregon DEQ)
The annual report is the primary mechanism by which EPA evaluates whether or not Oregon has made satisfactory progress in implementing the approved milestones of its updated Nonpoint Source Control Program Plan.
Water Resources Department, State of Oregon
The State of Oregon Water Resources Dept contains info on: News and Events, Adjudications, Commission, Dam Safety, Ground Water, Jobs at WRD, Related Links, Maps, Publications, Surface Water, Water Law, Water Management, and Water Rights.
Willamette Watershed Basin, Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) Program
The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (OR DEQ) lists the Total Maximum Daily Loads (TMDLs) for the Willamette River watershed basin. It includes water temperature, bacteria, pesticides (DDT, Dieldrin, Chlordane), nitrates, metals (Iron, Manganese, Arsenic), and water quality management plans.
Network of Oregon Watershed Councils
This links to various publications & resources by and for the Network of Oregon Watershed Councils.
City of Salem Water Resources Programs
This links to watershed information related to the City of Salem Public Works Division.
Directory of Oregon Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs)
This 2010 resource lists all of the districts within Oregon that are associated with the Oregon Soil & Water Conservation.
Oregon Watershed Enhancement Program, Biennial Reports 2001-2021
This is a list of biennial reports of watershed projects and areas of concern.

Watersheds

Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds (EPA)
The Environmental Protection Agency's Wetlands, Oceans, and Watersheds site links to a ton of info including watersheds. It includes a watershed locate function by zip code, "watershed academy," laws, publications, technical tools, news, and other related links.
EPA Handbook on Watershed Restoration and Protection
This is the Handbook for Developing Watershed Plans to Restore and Protect Our Waters developed by the EPA. It also includes info on polluted runoff (Nonpoint Source Pollution), in addition to a step-by-step guide for restoring watersheds to their original natural state.
Science in Your Watershed
Designed for environmental professionals as a source for online environmental data sets.
Surf Your Watershed (EPA)
Find watersheds by zip code, map, or specific watershed name. Contains list of “citizen-based groups" at work in the watershed for cleanups, monitoring activities, restoration projects and other activities.
Pringle Creek Watershed, Salem, Oregon
This is the Pringle Creek Watershed Management.

Oceanography

Census of Marine Life
The Census of Marine Life is a global network of researchers in more than 80 nations engaged in a 10-year scientific initiative to assess and explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the oceans. The world's first comprehensive Census of Marine Life - past, present, and future - will be released in 2010.
NASA Ocean Physics
Part of NASA's mission is to develop an understanding of the total Earth system and the effects of natural and human-induced changes on the global environment. Our oceans play a major role in influencing changes in the world's climate and weather. Collecting and analyzing long-term ocean data from satellites is a relatively new field of exploration.

Environmental Science: Water Resources