It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access Science is an online science encyclopedia equivalent to the McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. The tremendous resource has over 8,500 encyclopedia articles, 110,000 definitions, 15,000 illustrations and graphics, 2,000 biographies, and more.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E5137 1996 vol. 1-2
This encyclopedia covers oceanography, meteorology, paleontology, and astronomy. The 360 entries fall into five broad areas of study: solid earth processes; surficial earth processes; earth resources and stewardship; earth sciences in the public eye; and earth in space.
Encyclopedia of Earth System Science by William A. Nierenberg (Editor)
Call number: Reference QE703 .E523 1999 v.1
This encyclopedia includes 328 articles ranging from aardvark fossils to a biography of Chinese vertebrate paleontologist Yang Zhungjian. Each entry lists works cited and further reading; biographies list major publications. Finding aids include alphabetic and thematic lists of entries, a list of contributors, and general and taxonomic indexes.
Encyclopedia of Geology
Call number: Reference QE5 .E516 2005 v.1-5
This unrivaled, five-volume work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, history of geology, and more.
Sciences of the earth : an encyclopedia of events, people, and phenomena
Call Number: Reference QE11 .S38 1998 v.1-2
This surveys the history of geosciences to show the evolution of ideas about the earth. Disciplines (geology, geography, geophysics, oceanography, meteorology, etc.) cover 230-plus articles that describe historical explanations of earthly occurrences, important institutions, major historical issues, and topics that do not fall within mainstream science such as occult philosophy and magic. The emphasis is on Western science, although some other cultures are represented.
Encyclopedia of minerals
Call number: Reference QE355.R6
This book describes approximately 2,200 minerals, and includes some color photos and drawings. Each mineral includes the chemical classification/structure, crystal system, class, space group, lattice constants, diffraction lines, optical constants, Mohs hardiness, density, cleavage, habit, color-luster, occurrence/location, and references.
Color encyclopedia of gemstones
Call number: Reference QE392 .A69 1987This encyclopedia includes pictures of every major and minor gem in the world. It incorporates technical data about precious stones: dispersion, types of refraction, specific gravity, types of cutting, etc.
Gems : their sources, descriptions, and identification
Call number: Reference QE392 .W37 1994
Most of the gems include a detailed account of the physical and optical properties of gem materials, plus the theory and use of instruments used in gem-testing.
Encyclopedia of earthquakes and volcanoes
QE521 .R58 2001
This contains over 1,000 listings range from historical volcanoes and quakes (both famous and obscure) to entries on specific seismic phenomena (parasitic cones to jökulhlaup) and general geological principles, such as plate tectonics and seismic wave types. The encyclopedia also contains a lengthy bibliography, a list of Internet resources, a chronological listing of notable quakes and eruptions, and a handful of unforgettable eyewitness accounts.
Encyclopedia of volcanoes
Call number: Reference QE522 .E53 2000
This impressive work covers all aspects of volcanism in nine thematic sections: origin and transport of magma, eruption, effusive volcanism, explosive volcanism, extraterrestrial volcanism, volcanic interactions, volcanic hazards, eruption response and mitigation, economic benefits and cultural aspects of volcanism.