Environmental Science: Environment

The University of North Texas indexes many of the Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. The CRS does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990.

The information on this site is compiled and made available as a public service by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries.

The major topics in the CRS Reports include issues relating to: Agriculture, Air, Biodiversity, Climate Change, CRS Briefing Books, Economics & Trade, Energy, Federal Agencies, Forests, General Interests, Government Information, International Issues, Legislative Issues, Marine Environments, Mining, Natural Resources, Pesticides, Pollution, Population, Public Lands, Risk & Reform, Science & Technology, Stratospheric Ozone, Transportation, Waste Management, Water, and Wetlands.

CIESIN works at the intersection of the social, natural, and information sciences, and specializes in on-line data and information management, spatial data integration and training, and interdisciplinary research related to human interactions in the environment (Columbia University).

Contains information about the Chesapeake Bay Restoration Project.

Provides access to five searchable databases (plants and animals, protected areas of the world, forest statistics and maps, marine statistics and maps, and national biodiversity profiles).

This report is a comprehensive summary of the status and trends of our nation’s biological resources. The report describes the major processes and factors affecting biological resources, and it treats regional status and trends. Each chapter and box was peer-reviewed by anonymous scientific reviewers.

This is a search engine that searches documents from all science-related agencies in the US government. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved. The search takes a while for to complete, so you'll need a bit of patience.

Databases and other resources designed to help search for information by chemical name or structure. This database has over 380,000 chemicals, synonyms, structures, regulatory list information, and links to other databases. Includes a Superlist (Regulatory and other lists of chemicals), Additional Chemical Databases and Resources, Drug Information Portal, and TOXNET and Beyond Training Class Schedule and Workbook.