Environmental Science: Volcanos and Seismology

The CVO site, a division of the USGS, contains a variety of maps, historical information & descriptions from potential active volcanoes & volcanics of the Western U.S. and around the world. It has news and current events, activity updates, photos galleries, cascade range volcano listings, hazard assessment reports & maps, hiking information, Mt. Saint Helens 30th anniversary, volcano types, glossary of terms, and even what these volcanoes were like during the 1805 Lewis & Clark expedition.

The USGS provides a vast amount of geologic information, data, and maps related to volcanoes.

The Smithsonian Institution's Global Volcanism Program (GVP) is unique in its documentation of current and past activity for all volcanoes on the planet active during the last 10,000 years. It acts as a clearinghouse of reports, data, maps, and imagery. It reports current eruptions around the world, and builds databases and archival resources for Earth's active volcanoes and their eruptions.

Provides access to EQIIS (image database), earthquake engineering abstracts, and engineering reports and publications. This Center is headquartered at the University of California at Berkeley.

Citizens, emergency responders, and engineers rely on the USGS for accurate and timely information on where an earthquake occurred, how much the ground shook in different locations, and what the likelihood is of future significant ground shaking. The USGS now locates about 50 earthquakes each day; 20,000 a year.

ShakeMap sites provide near-real-time maps of ground motion and shaking intensity following significant earthquakes. These maps are used by federal, state, and local organizations, both public and private, for post-earthquake response and recovery, public and scientific information, as well as for preparedness exercises and disaster planning.

This provides access to information and research conducted by the Southern California Earthquake Center which is headquartered at the University of Southern California. It includes major projects & research, technical reports, and education & preparedness.