Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Who Saved the Redwoods: The Unsung Heroines of the 1920s Who Fought for Our Redwood Forests by
Publication Date: 2019
Powerful lumber interests stood in the way of the first campaigns to save the redwood trees of Humboldt County, California, but they were boldly opposed and pushed back. This history of the early 1900s recalls the Progressive Era crusades of women and men who prevailed against great odds, protecting the best of California’s northern redwood forests.
ECOTOX Database (EPA)
ECOTOXicology database provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life. Created by the EPA.
Encyclopedia of Life
The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.9 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species.
Hunt Institute for Botanical Documentation
Specializes in the history of botany and plant science, especially North American flora. Includes authoritative collections of books, plant images, manuscripts, portraits, data files, and publications. For biologists, historians, and conservationists.
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN)
The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), one of the oldest global environmental organizations, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges. It supports scientific research, manages field projects all over the world and brings governments, non-government organizations, United Nations agencies, companies and local communities together to develop and implement policy, laws and best practice.
Oregon Biodiversity Information Center
This resource is devoted to the biodiversity of Oregon. It covers: rare species of Oregon, species ranking biodiversity, rank definitions, rank documentation, survey and manage assessment, and the endangered invertebrate program.
PLANTS Database (USDA)
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
United States Department of Agriculture umbrellas other agencies including agriculture, nutrition, food, laws & regulations, marketing, trade, natural resources, the environment, science research, travel, and recreation.
Gap Analysis Program: Common Plant Species Identification
Assesses to what extent common native animal & plant species are being protected at state through national levels. It identifies their habitats & provides info need to make informed decisions when identifying priority areas for conservation.
Fall Foliage Celebration
(Image source: U. Buffalo)
Fall Foliage Celebration
Selected websites allow you to study and explore fall foliage treasures, whether you stay close to home, or travel across the country. (Arts & Sciences Libraries, University of Buffalo Libraries)