Biology: Zoology

The Encyclopedia will be an online reference and database on all 1.9 million species currently known to science and will stay current by capturing information on newly discovered and formally described species.

ECOTOXicology database provides single chemical toxicity information for aquatic and terrestrial life. Created by the EPA.

This is the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service library.

The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN), one of the oldest global environmental organizations, helps the world find pragmatic solutions to our most pressing environment and development challenges. It publishes a well known list of endangered species known as the "Red List."

This is the International Union for Conservation Nature (IUCN) Red List of Threatened Species.

This resource is devoted to the biodiversity of Oregon. It covers: rare species of Oregon, species ranking [biodiversity], rank definitions, rank documentation, survey and manage assessment, and the endangered invertebrate program.

Primate Information Net contains contemporary and classic information about the world of primates. This site is run by the National Primate Research Center at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Content covers current info on wildlife by the USGS.

Over 36,000 e-books that are openly available online, many of which are not indexed in Google Scholar. A key feature is the focus on naturalists of diverse backgrounds. Check out the Latino Natural History collection to see materials about and by naturalists who have influenced science in their home countries and across the globe. A large chunk of materials are available in other languages.

Anyone can browse this ornithologist-compiled wiki. The site highlights news, professional meetings and events, book reivew, and jobs. The Journals section allows users to search for journals by level of access, open access to some volumes, or hydrid open access to some articles.

U of New Mexico Libraries developed and host this open access publications database of top ornithology journals. Browse publications like Auk, Condor and Journal of Raptor Research, or search for specific topics or articles. Many articles housed here are not indexed by Google Scholar.

This umbrella nonprofit joins 120 conservation organizations across the globe and in conservation partnership. In the Science tab, the "Data Zone" provides country profiles that include the number and names of bird species that occur in a selected country, a table of wildlife law and agreements in effect, and maps of Important Bird Areas. Though slightly hard to navigate, the breadth of data available at this site is well worth the effort.

The synthesis of public-sourced, quality-controlled data into a simple interface has propelled eBird into the premier citizen-science ornithology database. Users can search by location, species, abundance, recommended birding "hotspots," and seasonality. Maps and bar charts are easily navigable and customization. Additionally, eBird automatically generates personalized lists for users who register and input bird sighting data, including yard, county, state, lifetime, and year-to-date lists.

Started in 1900, the annual Christmas Bird Count project is the longest-running citizen science project, and the data from these counts are available. The most recent count summary lists regionally accounts of count circle coverage, noteworthy species encountered, and highlighted numbers for species of conservation concern.

This nonprofit organization makes large amounts of data available to the general public through its two major databases. The Species Assessment Database is a repository of the organization's data gathered from their own scientific data-collection process, targeting conservation status, and recommendations for protection. The Population Estimates Database estimates the populations of birds on national, continental, and global scales for every species that occurs in North America (excluding shorebirds, water birds, and waterfowl). Population estimates are archived so historical data is also available which is particularly helpful when analyzing population trends over time.

This multimedia website from the Cornell Lab of Ornithology has tips on identifying, watching, and attracting birds; hot conservation issues, teaching tools for youth educators, invitations to joint their citizens science projects, "Inside Birding" how-to videos, and real-time bird cams. Friendly and colorful, this website caters to young and seasoned birders alike.

Devoted entirely to bird sounds, this database is maintained by the Netherland's Xeno Canto Foundation. It allows anyone across the globe to listen, download, or add recordings of bird sounds at no cost to the user. Because even the same species of birds have regional dialects and variations in repertoire, this database is particularly useful for location searchers, though you can also search by genus, recordist, type of bird sound, recording quality, and recording license.

Volumes 1-116 (1884-1999). A foremost journal in ornithology for empirical and theoretical findings. Topics include: documentation, analysis, and interpretation of lab and field studies, theoretical or methodological developments, and reviews of information or ideas.

Volumes 116-date (2000-date). A foremost journal in ornithology for empirical and theoretical findings. Topics include: documentation, analysis, and interpretation of lab and field studies, theoretical or methodological developments, and reviews of information or ideas.

Scientific literature that's useful and accessible to professional and amateur field ornithologists. Topics include: distribution, migration, status, identification, geographic variation, conservation, behavior, ecology, population dynamics, habitat requirements, the effects of pollution, and techniques for censusing, sound recording, and photographing birds in the field.

Volumes 1-102 (1899-2000). The Condor is an international journal that publishes (quarterly) original research reports, review articles, and commentary pertaining to the biology of wild bird species.

Volumes 102-date (2000-date). The Condor is an international journal that publishes (quarterly) original research reports, review articles, and commentary pertaining to the biology of wild bird species.

Numbers 1-12 (1970-2002). Peer-reviewed papers on wader (shorebird) world-wide research that were too long for publication in the Wader Study Group Bulletin (aka: Bulletin of the International Wader Study Group). Topics include: wader related news, notices, advances in study techniques, expedition reports as well as comment and debate concerning shorebird research and conservation.

Volumes 1-70 (1925-1999). Formerly named Bulletin of the NBBA and Bird-Banding. Publishes original empirical and methodological papers. Topics include: ecology, behavior, taxonomy, life history, and zoogeography of birds in their natural habitats. It also features an extensive review (300-350 reviews annually) of current foreign ornithological literature. All articles are written in English, but also carry a Spanish translation of the title and abstract.

Volumes 71-date (2000-date). Publishes original empirical and methodological papers. Topics include: ecology, behavior, taxonomy, life history, and zoogeography of birds in their natural habitats. It also features an extensive review (300-350 reviews annually) of current foreign ornithological literature. All articles are written in English, but also carry a Spanish translation of the title and abstract.

Volumes 1-39 (1967-2005). A peer-reviewed, international journal dedicated to the dissemination of scientific info about raptors, original research reports and review articles on the biology and conservation of diurnal and nocturnal raptors. Topics include: ecology, behavior, life history, conservation, or techniques are appropriate, as are reviews of published studies.

Volumes 1-39 (1967-2005). A peer-reviewed, international journal dedicated to the dissemination of scientific info about raptors, original research reports and review articles on the biology and conservation of diurnal and nocturnal raptors. Topics include: ecology, behavior, life history, conservation, or techniques are appropriate, as are reviews of published studies.

Includes articles and information of interest to bird banders. Topics include: Basics of banding, netting and trapping; "How to" make and use banding equipment; special techniques (i.e. aging and sexing of birds); banding station reports; original research by banders; book reviews in bird ecology & behavior. Recent issues of the journal are available in print only.

Volumes 27-61 (1973-2008). Previously published as part of Bird Lore, Audubon Field Notes, and later American Birds. Overviews the changing panorama of North America's birdlife, including outstanding records, range extensions and contractions, population dynamics, and changes in migration patterns or seasonal occurrence.

An International Journal of Neotropical Ornithology
published by the NEOTROPICAL ORNITHOLOGICAL SOCIETY. (none-searchable)

(1964-2005). The Ornithological Monographs series, published by the American Ornithologists' Union, has been established for major papers and presentations too long for inclusion in the Union's journal, The Auk. All material may be copied for noncommercial purposes of educational or scientific advancement without need to seek permission.

(2005-date). The Ornithological Monographs series, published by the American Ornithologists' Union, has been established for major papers and presentations too long for inclusion in the Union's journal, The Auk. All material may be copied for noncommercial purposes of educational or scientific advancement without need to seek permission.

(1900-1974). Collection of articles on the bird species found in the particular geographic region of the Pacific Coast. (none-searchable)

Studies in Avian Biology is a series of peer-reviewed works too long for The Condor and is published at irregular intervals. Some volumes are monographs and others are multi-authored collections of chapters organized around a theme.

Volume 1-105 (1970-2000). Also known as the Bulletin of the International Wader Study Group and the Wader Study Group, this peer-reviewed journal focuses on wader (shorebird) world-wide research. Topics include: wader related news, notices, advances in study techniques, expedition reports as well as comment and debate concerning shorebird research and conservation.

Volumes 1-111 (1889-1999). Formerly named The Wilson Bulletin, this journal is by professional and amateur ornithologists. Topics include: original studies of living birds, their behavior, ecology, adaptive physiology and conservation.

Volumes 112-date (2000-1999). Formerly named The Wilson Bulletin, this journal is by professional and amateur ornithologists. Topics include: original studies of living birds, their behavior, ecology, adaptive physiology and conservation.

The Census of Marine Life is a global network of researchers in more than 80 nations engaged in a 10-year scientific initiative to assess and explain the diversity, distribution, and abundance of life in the oceans. The world's first comprehensive Census of Marine Life - past, present, and future - will be released in 2010.

The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. 30300 species, 266200 common names, 46000 pictures, 41600 references, and 1560 collaborators.

The Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission approved Oregon's Nearshore Marine Resources Management Strategy in 2005.

Provides taxonomically & geographically resolved data on marine life & the ocean environment, software tools for data exploration & analysis. Over 13.9 million records of 81,000 species from 246 databases

Factual information about Oregon's Oceans, Fisheries, and the proposed Marine Reserves off Oregon's coasts.

Washington, Oregon and California (W-O-C) annual fish catch reports, all species report 307. Includes data for commercial landed catch: metric tons, revenue, price/pound from 1981-present.

Note: All reports are formatted for 132 columns.

The Zebrafish Model Organism Database.