Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fungal Genetics Stock Center.
The Fungal Genetics Stock Center was established to preserve strains that were finding important use in genetics research. There was concern that strains used in the 40's and 50's were in danger of being lost as the researchers who had generated them retired or moved on to other areas of inquiry.
The FGSC was founded in 1960 at Dartmouth College, and has since moved to California State University, Humboldt, then in 1985 to the University of Kansas Medical Center in Kansas City, Kansas, in 2004 to the University of Missouri, Kansas City, and in 2014 to Kansas State University. In 1960 there were approximately 400 strains at the FGSC. Now there are over 23,000 Neurospora strains, a growing number of Neurospora knock-outs, over 2,000 Aspergillus strains and various representatives of other fungi.
National Microbial Germplasm Program (USDA/ARS)
The goal of this program is to ensure that the genetic diversity of agriculturally important microorganisms is maintained to enhance and increase agricultural efficiency and profitability. The program will collect, authenticate and characterize potentially useful microbial germplasm; preserve microbial genetic diversity; and facilitate distribution and utilization of microbial germplasm for research and industry.
The Agricultural Research Service maintains several microbial germplasm collections including:
USDA ARS Culture Collection; USDA ARS Collection of Entomopathogenic Fungal Cultures (ARSEF); Rhizobium Search Page; and the US National Fungus Collections.
Index Fungorum is a community resource that indexes (books, articles, etc.) over 500,000 items associated with fungus. Search by Name, Epithet, Genus, or Family.
Names with blue links are names for which there is no taxonomic opinion available, red links are misapplied names (names which have been used in a sense which is different from that as represented by the type of the name), green links are names where a taxonomic opinion has been expressed in Species Fungorum and lead directly to the appropriate page.
This news feed displays the ten most recent articles posted to ScienceDaily dealing with bacteria news.
Websites Classification & Nomenclature
A number of web resources are creating detailed species information for large groups of species. Some are attempting to name, describe, and classify all forms of life. These sites will help you locate taxonomic information on about fungi.
Bar Code of Life Data Systems (BOLD)
Kingdoms of Life being barcoded. The basic data unit in BOLD is a Darwin-core compliant specimen record and its associated sequence information. The specimen record includes images, when they are available, and high resolution satellite imagery of the collection locale.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System
This site provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
Use this when you have identified the generic or specific name. Use the taxonomy drop-down menu in database search engine to search for recent taxonomic literature and molecular data.
Tree of Life Web Project
Compiled collaboratively by biologists, all experts on in particular groups of organisms. Provides information about our current knowledge of the evolutionary tree of the life and the characteristics and diversity of life on earth
UCMP WebLift to Taxa
Fungal Division: Chytridiomycote (chytrids)
News in Virus and Bacteriology
This news feed displays the ten most recent articles from Scientific American on virus and bacteria news.