Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
 

IDS 101: Tocqueville's Democracy in America: Articles

How to Find Articles

  1. Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
     
  2. If it is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  We might have e-access another way or have it in print. 
  3. If we do not have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Full-Text Databases

Databases are how articles are indexed (it just tells you that articles exist).  The databases below are primarily full-text, which means that you can get actual text of the article. Some of them may contain SOME full-text.  The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

 

Academic Search Complete database

Academic Search Complete (ASC) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.   Includes broad based coverage of the Social Sciences in general, as well as including American History.  However, this database does not include coverage of topics from the perspectives of Business nor Economics.  To get thorough coverage of those realms, you need to open up either the Business Source Complete database, or the EconLit database.

CQ Researcher database

Joint search of BUSINESS and ECONOMICS databases

This special link opens up a joint search of an Economics database and a Business database, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":
 

Business Source Complete is a full-text database of academic journals, trade magazines and news magazines focusing on all aspects of business, management, public administration, public policy and some coverage of economics.

Econ-Lit is a full text database of academic journals, conference papers, books and "working papers" focusing on theoretical & practical aspects of economics, as well as international development and allied disciplines from the social sciences.

Finding databases that cover other subjects