Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How To Find Articles
If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.
This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.
If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.
Just Starting Your Research?
Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.
Academic Search Premier
This interdisciplinary database has the full-text to over 4,400 academic journals, and indexes nearly 8,000 journals. Most of the full-text journals are peer reviewed.
Databases Focusing on Contemporary Issues
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues featuring viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).
Databases Providing Coverage of Public Health Topics
Databases are how articles are indexed (it just tells you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of the article). These databases index articles that are related to this subject area.
The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Full text is available for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,100 journals.
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Health & Medical Collection
The Health & Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource providing full-text journal content, reference ebooks, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews.
Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources.
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
Provides the entryway to a database of over 1,200 law review journals as well as other law-related publications.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services)
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations.
Political Science Database
Provides articles on international relations and political science.
Abstracts and indexes the professional and academic literature in the field of psychology and related disciplines. Covers more than 1,300 journals in more than 30 languages. Also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.
Public Health Database
Provides journal articles, magazines, news, reports and dissertations on public health issues.
The U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) premier life sciences database.
Provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.
Finding Newspaper Articles
The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate mainstream newspaper articles.
Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Provides key national and regional news sources from the U.S.
A free site that "provides links to thousands of news sources covering every world's country and many of subjects. All listed sites are in English and provide free online content." Includes a section on US newspapers from around the country.
Available from Library Databases:
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Coverage: 1861 - present
Provides access to Salem's newspaper, covering local news and events, Oregon state government. Full text from 2002 forward.
Sampling of Newspapers Available from Newspaper Websites: