PHEAL 101: Introduction to Public Health--Spring 2020: Web Sites

GHC's mission is "to use the power of the collective voice to improve global health and wellbeing through informed investments and policies."

GHO is the World Health Organization's (WHO) portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programmes and provides links to supporting information.

"UNICEF works in over 190 countries and territories to save children’s lives, to defend their rights, and to help them fulfill their potential, from early childhood through adolescence."

"USAID leads international development and humanitarian efforts to save lives, reduce poverty, strengthen democratic governance and help people progress beyond assistance."

"WHO works worldwide to promote health, keep the world safe, and serve the vulnerable."

Offers information about a variety of different health programs including communicable diseases, reproductive health, and sexually transmitted infections.

"In partnership with the communities we serve, the Health Department assures, promotes and protects the health of the people of Multnomah County."

OAHHS "is a statewide, nonprofit trade association that works closely with local and national government leaders, business and citizen coalitions, and other professional health care organizations to enhance and promote community health and to continue improving Oregon's innovative health care community."

"The purpose of CLHO is to advocate for effective and improved public policies, programs, and financing of local public health in Oregon."

Operating out of OHSU, Oregon Family-to-Family Health Information Center mission is to help "families of children and youth with special health care needs and the professionals who serve them."

OHA's mission is to help "people and communities achieve optimum physical, mental and social well-being through partnerships, prevention and access to quality, affordable health care."

"Connecting Oregonians to healthcare."

OPHA's mission is "to provide learning opportunities for public health professionals and the broader community" and "to advocate for policies that protect and promote the health of all Oregonians."

"PPCW is the largest non-profit family planning and reproductive rights organization in Oregon and Southwest Washington."

This public health resource for Polk County contains information about a variety of health programs including reproductive health.

"The Association of Oregon Counties connects and strengthens Oregon’s 36 counties by developing and sharing solutions to county issues through advocacy, research, and leadership development." This site lists all of the counties in Oregon and their websites.

Official website for Marion County.

OCF's mission is "to improve the lives of all Oregonians through the power of philanthropy."

A list of all the public libraries in Oregon

OSCC "is a private nonprofit trade association for chambers of commerce that represents 80 local chambers of commerce and more than 27,000 local businesses in every corner of Oregon." Their Business Directory provides access to Chamber of Commerces across Oregon.

Official website for Polk County.

"KFF is an endowed, non-profit organization filling the need for trusted, independent information on national health issues."  KFF has no connection to Kaiser Permanente.  

MFF "is an endowed operating foundation that works to improve population health by connecting leaders and decision-makers with the best available evidence and experience."

The mission of NNLM "is to advance the progress of medicine and improve the public health by providing all U.S. health professionals with equal access to biomedical information and improving the public's access to information to enable them to make informed decisions about their health."

RWJF "is the nation’s largest philanthropy dedicated solely to health."

"The Aga Khan Foundation brings together human, financial and technical resources to address some of the challenges faced by the poorest and most marginalised communities in the world."

"The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation works to help all people lead healthy, productive lives."

The Carter Center "seeks to prevent and resolve conflicts, enhance freedom and democracy, and improve health."

DWB is "an independent, global movement providing medical aid where it’s needed most."

"Wellcome exists to improve health by helping great ideas to thrive."

"CDC works 24/7 to protect America from health, safety and security threats, both foreign and in the U.S. Whether diseases start at home or abroad, are chronic or acute, curable or preventable, human error or deliberate attack, CDC fights disease and supports communities and citizens to do the same."

"Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans."

"NIMHD’s mission is to lead scientific research to improve minority health and reduce health disparities."

"The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives."

"It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans."

City Health Dashboard offers regularly updated data about specific cities and neighborhoods including life expectancy, obesity, opioid overdoses, and more.  Supported by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages. FastStats is produced by a unit of the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

NCHS is the nation's principal governmental agency for health statistics. NCHS data & publications document the health status of the population and of important subgroups; identifies disparities in health status or health care utilization; monitors trends; supports research, and evaluates impacts of public programs or policies.

"APHA champions the health of all people and all communities. We strengthen the public health profession. We speak out for public health issues and policies backed by science. We are the only organization that combines a nearly 150-year perspective, a broad-based member community and the ability to influence federal policy to improve the public's health."

"ASPPH is the voice of accredited academic public health, representing schools and programs accredited by the Council on Education for Public Health (CEPH)."

"ASTHO’s mission is to support, equip, and advocate for state and territorial health officials in their work of advancing the public’s health and well-being."

"The mission of the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is to improve the health of communities by strengthening and advocating for local health departments."

SOPHE's mission is to "provide global leadership to the profession of health education and health promotion and to promote the health of society."

"The American Red Cross prevents and alleviates human suffering in the face of emergencies by mobilizing the power of volunteers and the generosity of donors."

The international organization of the Red Cross.

PHF "improves public health and population health practice to support healthier communities."

"PHI is dedicated to improving health and wellness by discovering new research, strengthening key partnerships and programs, and advancing sound health policies."

"ASHA was founded in 1914 in New York City, formed out of early 20th century social reform movements focused on fighting sexually transmitted infections (known then as venereal disease, or VD) and prostitution. Now, more than 100 years after its creation, ASHA remains America’s nonprofit authority for sexual health information."

"Center on Addiction is the nation’s leading science-based nonprofit organization dedicated to transforming how the nation addresses addiction."

The CDC's Smoking and Tobacco site with all sorts of information about e-cigarettes.

The U. S. Department of Agriculture's Food and Nutrition website offering information on food distribution, food security, and more.

"The International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) provides research-based policy solutions to sustainably reduce poverty and end hunger and malnutrition in developing countries."

"The Maternal Health Task Force (MHTF) at the Center of Excellence in Maternal and Child Health (MCH) continues and builds on the tradition of the MHTF in ensuring that front-line maternal health workers, policymakers, researchers, and advocates across the world have access to the most current and reliable evidence in the field." Based out of Harvard.

"The National Alliance to End Homelessness is a nonprofit, non-partisan, organization committed to preventing and ending homelessness in the United States. By improving policy, building capacity, and educating opinion leaders, the Alliance has become a leading voice on this issue."

"The National Coalition for the Homeless works to bring about the systemic changes necessary to prevent and end homelessness and to protect the rights of people experiencing homelessness by engaging in policy advocacy."

"Through enforcing vehicle performance standards and partnerships with state and local governments, NHTSA reduces deaths, injuries and economic losses from motor vehicle crashes."

SAMHSA "is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation."

"UNFPA is the United Nations sexual and reproductive health agency. Our mission is to deliver a world where every pregnancy is wanted, every childbirth is safe and every young person's potential is fulfilled."