Research Guides: How to Find Online Resources and Access Library Services Remotely: Streaming Media

Freely Available Streaming Video

Documentaries, films in the public domain, short films, television shows, etc. may be available through sites such as Internet Archive, YouTube, Vimeo, or others. Below are some possible resources:

British Movietone
"British Movietone is arguably the world’s greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 – 1986. Shot on 35mm film, this global archive contains many of the world’s enduring images and is rich in coverage of news events, celebrities, sports, music, social history, science, lifestyle and quirky."
Culture Unplugged
This site "presents short length + feature length documentary / film content from independent film-makers and grassroot productions to a global audience, to not only promote the art of film-making, but above all to spread awareness and promote the collective contemplation over global/local challenges."
Digital Moving Images Collections
Several hundred early motion pictures viewable through this collection in the Library of Congress American Memory website.
Film Studies for Free
A crowdsourced list of open access streaming video collections.
Indigenous Cinema
From the National Film Board of Canada, free streaming of documentaries, animations, experimental films, fiction and interactive works from indigenous filmmakers.
Internet Archive
Thousands of free films and videos on a variety of topics
Open Culture: Movies
"Watch 1,150 movies free online. Includes classics, indies, film noir, documentaries and other films, created by some of our greatest actors, actresses and directors."
Open Streaming Video Collections
This list from Wabash University Library "includes very niche collections as well as those with wide interest, such as BBC Online Media; AP Archive Video; Civil Rights Digital Library; Frontline, NOVA, Great Performances, and other PBS collections; the Moving Image Internet Archive; National Film Board of Canada; the Smithsonian Institution Collection; and YouTube Movies."
Television @ Internet Archive
Collections of items recorded from television, including commercials, old television shows, government proceedings, and more.
Tubi
According to their site, "Tubi is the leading free, premium, on demand video streaming app. We have the largest library of content with over 20,000 movies and television shows, the best streaming technology, and a personalization engine to recommend the best content for you." Be forewarned, there will be advertisements!

Netflix

Some Netflix Original educational documentaries are available for one-time educational screenings. Available titles will display a "grant of permission" on their details page. To locate titles available for educational screenings, go to Netflix Media Center, choose "Only On Netflix," and then "All Alphabetical."

Netflix has also made a small number of documentaries and series available through YouTube.

Streaming Audio Available through the Library

Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. This release includes 2,147 albums, equalling 29,508 tracks, growing regularly.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres. This release includes 5,068 albums and 61,584 tracks, growing regularly.

Streaming Video Available through the Library

Academic Video Online (AVON)
AVON, a streaming media service, has more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
BBC Shakespeare Plays
Provides streaming access to the 37 Shakespeare plays that the BBC produced.
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus is an educational platform that will be of particular interest to the English department and those involved in the Performing Arts. It includes 600+ theatre productions and educational resources.

How to Find Online Resources and Access Library Services Remotely: Streaming Media

Freely Available Streaming Video

Netflix

Streaming Audio Available through the Library

Streaming Video Available through the Library

Willamette University Libraries