Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ebooks in the Library's Catalog
You can identify and access ebooks through our catalog, using either method below:
- Select "ebooks" as the Material Type, under Search Scope choose "WU Libraries," and then do your search. (Publisher licensing requirements prevent access to ebooks purchased by other SUMMIT libraries.)
- Run a search in the catalog and then apply the limiters (located on the left hand side of the results page.)
You also may search separately any of the collections below.
Hatfield Library Reference Ebook Collections
Oxford Reference Online
Provides access to hundreds of well-known and trusted dictionaries, encyclopedias and reference books, in a single cross-searchable web database. Offers resources in the sciences, humanities, and the social sciences.
Hatfield Library Ebook Collections
Early English Books Online
Provides indexing, citations and full text of Early English publications from 1475 to 1800.
Ebook Central is a platform for e-books offering titles in a wide variety of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers. The library now has over 15,000 e-books as part of the Orbis Cascade Alliance's Demand Driven Acquisitions Project. Access to Ebook Central is limited to current students, staff, and faculty of Willamette.
Ebook Collection (EBSCO)
Provides ebooks from all subject areas. For off-campus access, enter your Willamette email username and password.
Free Online Ebook Collections
Includes public collections of e-books in PDF format. Downloads available only to partner institutions.
A digital library of all sorts of different kinds of materials including lots of books. "Books published prior to 1923 are available for download, and hundreds of thousands of modern books can be borrowed through our Open Library site." (listed below)
National Academies Press
This publisher offers more than 4,000 full text current academic ebooks in PDF format, available to download free.
Offers over 1,000,000 free ebooks. Open Library is a project of the non-profit Internet Archive, and has been funded in part by a grant from the California State Library and the Kahle/Austin Foundation.
Offers over 46,000 free ebooks to download to your PC, Kindle, iPad, iPhone, Android or other portable device. Choose between ePub, Kindle, HTML and simple text formats. Most books are in the public domain,free of copyright restrictions, mainly published prior to 1923.
UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Contains books from academic presses on a range of topics. About 700 of the titles are open to the public. Be sure to "Browse Public Titles" or limit to "Show Public Access Books" on your results page.