Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Map and GIS resources
Sustainability at Willamette
Willamette University's Sustainability Institute
Established in 2013, Willamette University's Sustainability Institute combines the former Center for Sustainable Communities, Campus Sustainability Council and the Zena Advisory Committee into a single, focused entity under an Executive Committee. The Institute serves to strategically advance sustainability in the curriculum, co-curricular activities, and operations cross the university and into the community. The Institute also oversees the administration and planning of Willamette University's Zena Forest and Farm.
Salem: Sustainable City of the Year
Although this is based off of the University of Oregon's library guide for the 2010-11 Sustainable Cities Initiative for Salem, the content is also geared towards the Pacific Northwest & sustainability in general.
You can find things through the tabs above by material type (e.g. articles, books, & statistics) or by topic (e.g. business, ecology, & transportation).
City of Salem: Urban Development
The Urban Development Department manages Airport, Housing & Social Service, Urban Renewal, Parking Services and Real Property projects for the City of Salem. This link is the City of Salem's Sustainability page which includes a bunch of useful resources.
Oversees Airport, Housing & Social Services, Urban Renewal, Parking Services, Real Property projects, and department operations.
Downtown Revitalization Division
Maintains the livability and economic prosperity of Salem’s downtown by leveraging the City's resources to improve and maintain the vitality of the downtown core. Includes Parking Services.
Economic Development Division
Facilitates economic opportunities and private investment by attracting high quality, prevailing wage employment. Promotes investment by creating awareness of development programs, services and incentives. Includes Airport Services.
Housing and Social Services Division
Administers the City’s federally funded block grant and social service funds to support affordable housing and economic development and other programs serving low income residents of Salem and Keizer.
Real Property Services Division
Manages leases, acquisitions and sales of City and Urban Renewal Agency property, including historic and cultural resources. Provides real estate services for City Council, Urban Renewal Agency, and City Departments.
View past and present projects. From the Downtown Inventory, to Salem Renewable Energy and Technology Center.
Loans, grants, tax exemption information.
Press releases, Urban Development Quarterly newsletter and essential links.
Salem was selected as the UO Sustainable Cities Initiative focus city for the 2010-11 academic year.
The Urban Development Department of Salem, Oregon, oversees eight designated urban renewal areas.
This links to the 2010-11 Environmental Action Plan annual report. Vision 20/20 is a community-wide process that will help shape the future of Salem’s City Center.
Ecology, Geology & the Natural History of Salem
, Citation Guides
, Computer Science
, Data Management
, Environmental Science
, Exercise & Heath Science
, Physics & Astronomy
, Science (General)
Newspapers, Media & More
News and opinion
Use these resources to find coverage of the City of Salem by news media and policy groups.
- Salem Statesman Journal. This is the main newspapers for the Salem-Keizer area.
- Oregonian. Online access to full text articles in the Portland Oregonian, 1987-present. (WU only)
- Portland Business Journal. Brief news articles may be searched by key words or phrases, such as "downtown Salem" or '"Salem".
- Oregon Policy Directory Links to websites for 400 organizations that analyze or influence public policy in Oregon. The full set of websites may be searched simultaneously, using terms such as "Salem".
In addition to the catalogs, article databases, and newspapers described above, the following sources can be useful for researching the history of Salem. For further assistance, contact the History Librarian, John Russell, at email@example.com.
- Index to the Oregon Historical Quarterly (REF KNIGHT F871 .O43)
Three volumes covering the Oregon Historical Quarterly from the 1900 through 1980. The fourth volume, covering 1981-2000, is available online.
- Sanborn fire insurance maps.
Historic large scale maps with building detail for Oregon cities. Salem coverage includes 1884, 1888, 1890, 1895, and 1926-1950.
- GLO maps and survey notes.
General Land Office township plat maps for the Salem area were produced between 1852 and 1937. The Salem site lies in three townships and three ranges: T6S R2W - T6S R3W, T7S R2W - T7S R3W, and T8S R2W T8 R4W.
- Salem Online History. Links to Heritage Institutions and the Salem Historic District.
- Salem Historic Landmarks Commission. Links to Historic Preservation Projects.
- Oregon Parks and Recreation: Heritage Programs: National Register. Site includes information on parks, state hospital district, State St. and Commercial St. District, and more on the National Register for Marion county.
- Heritage in Salem. Site includes a map of historic districts and current news pertaining to historic districts and historic plans for Salem.
- Oregon Historic Sites Database.
Beta version of a database of historic sites, which may be searched by city, building style or function.
- Census reports. Census data published earlier than 1990 must be found in printed reports, which are maintained in the Document Center.