Browse the shelves or the Library Catalog at these call numbers. This is also a great way to survey what is available or gather ideas.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment, 2 Volume Set by 
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by 
International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics by 
Confessions of an Eco-Sinner by 
Hot, Flat, and Crowded by 
The Power Surge by 
Cool It: the Skeptical Environmentalist's Guide to Global Warming by 
Green by 
Blessed Unrest: How the Largest Movement in the World Came into Being, and Why No One Saw it Coming by 
Worldchanging by 
EBSCOhost eBooks is a collection of over 4,700 online books with subject strengths in general reference books and the Northwest. It also includes books from regional university presses and Choice Outstanding Academic Titles. These are select titles from this collection:
Sustainability: A Cultural History by 
Sustainability or Collapse?: An Integrated History and Future of People on Earth by 
Sustainability and the U. S. EPA by 
For e-books, try the E-Book Library (EBL) Collection. It has over 15,000 e-books as part of the Orbis Cascade Alliance's Demand Driven Acquisitions Project, which is limited to current WU students, staff, and faculty. These are select titles from this collection:
Sustainability: A History by 
A Concise History of World Population by 
Enhancing Sustainability Campuswide: New Directions for Student Services by 