Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections of Statistical Resources Arranged by Topics
Consumer Sentiment Index - monthly pulse of the American public
Economic Census & SIC codes & NAICS codes
Economic Profiles of the 50 States
Nationwide statistics for the United States
Budget of the United States Government (1997 to present)
A collection of documents containing the President's budget message; information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications that have been issued throughout the fiscal year. Other budget items, such as related publications and supporting materials, may vary from year to year. These reports show what was requested, not how it was actually spent!
Bureau of Economic Analysis (US Dept. of Commerce)
Definitive source for a wide variety of statistical resources, time series data, publications, and working papers, including: Gross domestic product; GDP by state; GDP by industry; Personal income; Balance of payments; Corporate profits, and National accounts. Also includes access to "Survey of Current Business".
Bureau of Labor Statistics (US Dept. of Labor)
The definitive source for a wide variety of statistical resources, time series data, and publications, including: Inflation, Employment, Unemployment, Pay level, Benefits, Productivity, Workplace injuries. Also is the source for Consumer price indexes; Producer price indexes; Import & export price indexes, and many special reports.
Economic & Industrial Censuses - What they are & How to use them
"Economic Censuses" provide detailed portraits of the United States' economy once every five years, from the national to the local level. Covers most of the U.S. economy with basic collection of establishment & industrial/sectoral statistics.
Economic Report of the President of the USA
Annual report written by the Chair of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text & data appendices. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than 10 days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.
State level data of employment & unemployment
State Rankings of Core Measures of Unemployment (U.S. Department of Labor)
Provides state performance rankings for the core measures. Results are ranked according to performance for all measures except Tax Quality where performance is assessed on a pass/fail basis. Any number of measures and quarters can be selected, however, the Tax Quality measure is on a calendar year basis and updated data is available every May 1st for the prior calendar year. All states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands are included in the report output.
Oregon (statewide or local data)
Oregon By The Numbers (Oregon Business Development Commission)
In addition to containing the OBDC's annual report and strategic plan, this site also offers the State of Oregon's "Annual Performance Measures Plan", their Innovation Plan, and their Incentives Benchmarking Report. You can use the tab called "Oregon's Economic Data" to get more details about Oregon's statewide data & statistics.
Oregon Department of Education
This is a gateway to ODE's most popular reports & recurring publications including: Assessement; Curriculum; District profiles; School profiles; Funding & finance; and "Adequate Yearly Progress Reports".
Oregon WorkSource / Labor Market Information System (Oregon Employment Dept)
Provides a wide variety of information about the state of employment, unemployment and job growth in Oregon. Some reports are also available by county, by MSA, or by regions within the State of Oregon.
Oregon Regional Economic Analysis Project
Lets you create graphic trends analysis of local economic indicators and generate shift-share analysis results to diagnose local employment growth. View and download customized tabulations of economic data for the regions and counties of the states compiled by the Regional Income Division of the US Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). The data are annual, spanning 40 years.
Oregon Vital Records (Oregon's Center for Health Statistics)
Data about Births, Deaths, Marriages, Divorces, Population, and Low Birthweight across Oregon. Since 2004, also has annual reports for Oregon on Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System covering a wide variety of concerns from Alcohol consumption, to Cholesterol awareness, Tobacco use, and Veterans status.
Oregon's Election Results (Oregon's Secretary of State)
Official election returns, listed by county, as reported by the Oregon Secretary of State's Election Division. Primary results go back to 1996, General elections since 1950, and Initiatives / Referenda /Recalls results go back to 1902.
Population Research Center (Portland State University)
Current population reports & tables for every county, and every city in Oregon yearly since 2000. Also includes a listing of every city within each county. Some "cities" have a population of as little as 20 people! Data is available either as PDF or as Excel spreadsheets.
Regional Economic Accounts (US Bureau of Economic Analysis)
Easy to use resource for state level, or metro level statistics of Gross Domestic Product or of Personal Income & Employment, quarterly back to 1969, and annually back to 1929. You can browse recent releases of statistical updates, or create tables, maps, or charts on demand.
Economic Data - FRED (Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis)
Over 100 statistical data sets for the State of Oregon, many of which are available either by County or by Metropolitan Statistical Area (each MSA's geography is designated by the U.S. Census Bureau).
Data for Local Communities in OR/WA (Orbis Cascade Alliance)
A collection of statistical, spatial, and descriptive information about the cities, counties and other civil, economic and natural regions of Oregon and Washington. The LocalData database lets you retrieve web-based information by topic and geography, while Additional Resources provides links to geospatial data and other organizational websites.
Gary Klein (librarian for statistics)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies