Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections of Statistical Resources Arranged by Topics
Population and General Demographics
Hatfield Library's OVERVIEW of the U.S. Census Bureau (Gary Klein)
Provides an overview of the different types of censuses produced the by U.S. Census Bureau. Also includes a list of the types of questions that can be found in various U.S. censuses of people, as well as WHAT IS NOT covered by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Data Tools of the American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
Did you know that there are more than a dozen different types of "Censuses" in the United States? The U.S. Census Bureau is an official arm of the U.S. Government,and specializes in compiling, analyzing and distributing the bulk of the government produced census data in the USA.
American Community Survey (U.S. Census Bureau)
ACS provides granularity & flexibility in compiling localized population & household census information, without having to wait for the next 10 year cicle of nationwide census compilations to kick in. ACS undergoes constant change & refinements every year. All reports are available on demand, in a do it yourself format.
Quick Facts to US Census 2010 (U.S. Census Bureau)
As of April 1, 2010 there were more than 308 million people living in the USA. This site lets you extract Census data for a State; a Metropolitan area; a County; a City; or a Zipcode. Available data includes Population, Households, Race, Education, Income, Employment, Housing costs, Disability status, Age and other socio-economic information.
Historical Decennial Census Materials back to 1790 (U.S. Census Bureau)
This is a guide to major components of the Decennial Censuses of the USA, starting with 1790, through 2000. Formats and the specific questions asked have changed greatly over the decades. These documents are just the tip of the icebergs, and do not include special topical reports, nor cross-tabbed analysis. All of these documents are offered as PDFs.
News & Updates from the U.S. Census Bureau
The U.S. Census Bureau is constantly updating & revising its myriad array of different census products & special or topical reports, such as a February 2016 analysis of the voting age population of New Hampshire.
International Database of Population (U.S. Census Bureau)
Quick, easy to use system, to obtain the current or historical population of any country, as far back as 1950, or projections of population as far forward as 2050. You can also get aggregates of combined global population, as well as "Population Clocks" for the US and the World.
Population Index on the Web (Princeton University)
This is a searchable indexing database of journal articles, about Population & Demographics. The index was compiled 1986-2000, before it was terminated. It offers access to articles about the theories & science of demographics, and collecting census information. You will have to manually plug citation information into Hatfield Library's Journal Title Finder service to get the articles into your hands.
Target Marketing & Psychographics
Index of Consumer Sentiment (University of Michigan along with Thomson Reuters)
47 statistical tables & components that are produced from monthly surveys across the USA on Consumer Sentiment, opinion & expectations that consumers have about the nation's economic behavior and economic activity. Data is offered back to 1978 in downloadable formats. Additional info about survey design & methodology is available from: http://www.sca.isr.umich.edu/survey-info.php
Gary Klein (librarian for statistics)
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
, Civic Communication & Media
, Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
, Rhetoric & Media Studies