Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases with Current Newspaper Articles
Access World News (NewsBank)
Access World News – This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people. Content is easily searched and sorted through an intuitive, map-based interface.
Newspaper Source (Ebsco)
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
US Newsstream (Proquest) 1980-present
enables users to search the most recent premium U.S. news content, as well as archives which stretch back into the 1980s featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format
International Newsstream (Proquest)
provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
Finding Different Types of Articles, etc in Proquest Databases
A database that provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press, including Spanish language articles.
1. Click on Ethnic NewsWatch or US Newsstream or International Newsstream
2. Select a type of publication in the SourceType section
3. Select a type of article/feature in the Document type section.
Databases with Historical Newspaper Articles
New York Times Historical (1851-2010)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Historic Oregon Newspapers (1846-2017)
This full-text searchable database contains over 900,000 pages of Oregon newspapers dated 1846 - 2017, and the ODNP is continually adding new titles.
Willamette Collegian (1875 - May 2014)
Explore history as it happened by searching the pages of Willamette's longest running paper. For over 130 years, Willamette students have experienced and reported on campus, regional, and national events and trends in the pages of the Collegian.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies
About this course
This course examines news accounts as they construct the meaning of the events they report. Students explore how reality is shaped when the media privileges a particular frame for the events; sketches familiar plotlines, characters, or ideologies; or gives authority to some voices and silences others. Finally, the course addresses the effect of media conventionalizing, in the symbolic complexes addressed and the formulaic stories they spawn, on both the range of interpretations and the range of topics that are publicly addressed.