Food Media
Food gives us life and connects us to each other. It provokes strong feelings—we love some foods and hate others. What is food? What is cooking? How do we communicate about food? Together we will explore these questions through the study of food media. Every day we consume media that focus on food. Have you ever shared a photo of food with somebody in your life? Then you are also a producer of food media. In this course we will get a taste for the work of scholars, journalists, celebrity chefs, public intellectuals, food justice activists, business owners, and social workers who communicate about food. We will discuss, critique, and design food media of our own, sampling a variety of genres: articles, movies, social media posts, advertising messages, manga, cartoons, podcasts, and more. We will work in teams and share our food media critique, design, and production in order to become more conscious eaters who care about people, culture, and the environment and therefore about the system of food in our lives and in the world.
Course taught by: Huike Wen Colloquium Associate: Lee Loftin
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content, it is sometimes considered unreliable. It is a good place to start your research, but it is best to double check what you find against other sources.
Consider consulting the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your paper. Reference books can provide a general overview of a topic and help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data; these sources often include references and lists of further readings. Additionally, these resources have typically gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Ethnic American Food Today
They Eat That? a Cultural Encyclopedia of Weird and Exotic Food from Around the World
Food, Feasts, and Faith: an encyclopedia of food culture in world religions
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
The Firefly Visual Dictionary
Nutrition: science, issues, and applications
The Oxford encyclopedia of food and drink in America