Research Guides: ENGL 101: Jane Austen and Her Peers: Articles/Databases

Searching Tips for the Academic Search Complete Database

Academic Search Complete (ASC) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

What is a Library Database? (Video)

Learn what sort of information can be found through library databases and when to use them for research (CSU video, length 1:52 minutes)

Useful Databases for This Course

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
LitFinder
Provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Books and Authors
Offers a reader's advisory tool that includes plot summaries, reading recommendations for similar titles, and searchable information on genre, characters, subjects, and time period. It also provides information about authors: writings, awards, career personal information, and more.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.

ENGL 101: Jane Austen and Her Peers: Articles/Databases

Searching Tips for the Academic Search Complete Database

How To Find Articles

What is a Library Database? (Video)

Useful Databases for This Course

Willamette University Libraries