Research Guides: IDS 101: Tabletop Game Design: Find More...

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 national (U.S.) and international newspapers, including USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, The Times (London), Toronto Star, Christian Science Monitor, etc. In addition, full-text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. It also contains selective full text for more than 370 regional (U.S.) newspapers.

Access World News

This database provides the full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.

Oregonian (1861-present)

Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.

More Newspaper Databases...

Oxford Reference Online
(Full-text)
This online resource is a collection of 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable interface.
Encyclopedia Britannica
(Fulltext)
An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

Getting Started with Board Games

Board Game Geek
Website dedicated to physical board games, with an extensive database of more than 120,000 board games (as of October 2020) as well as an active community of users who discuss, argue, buy, sell, trade and play board games. Each game has its own game entry with information about a game, user ratings, forums for discussion, and a great deal more.
The Big Game Hunter
History, companies, products, and people involved with board games, card games, skill and action games, and parlor games.
List of Board Games (Wikipedia)
This page lists all the board games with pages on Wikipedia by category: two player, two-player abstract strategy games, multiplayer games, European race games, economics and strategy games, games of physical skill, children's games, cooperative games, and gaming systems. It also lists additional info about game manufacturers, games of the year, board war games, and more.
All About Fun & Games
A collector's virtual museum of historic games. Alongside photos of each game, it describes their plot and briefly how to play.
One-page Games
Tabletop RPGs with relatively simple rulesets by Rowan, Rook & Decard. Many are free, and others are pay-what-you-wish or have a set price.

Play Games

Board Game Arena
Join the largest board game table in the world. No download necessary, and play directly from your web browser with friends and thousands of players from around the world.
Playing Cards
Highly customizable tool for playing card games online.
Roll20
Primarily a resource for playing tabletop RPGs, but useful for any game requiring dice rolls and/or map drawing.
Dice Roller
Virtual dice roller.

IDS 101: Tabletop Game Design

Getting Started with Board Games

Play Games

Willamette University Libraries