George Grie, (Russian Canadian 1962-), Dostoevsky Crime and Punishment. 2018. http://neosurrealismart.com/archive-works/00-surreal-absurdist-nonsense-humor-examples-surhumorism.htm
Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Encyclopedia of Psychology
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
Encyclopedia of Russian History
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Dictionary of Literary Themes and Motifs
The Encyclopedia of Novels into FilmWikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
A personal Librarian is your "go-to" person in the library. First-year students are paired up with a librarian who will be your individual contact person within the library from day one. Find your Personal Librarian here.
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday 7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)
Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.
Archives Hours
Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Appointments available:
Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.
Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
What is the difference between being a person and being moss, a bit of garbage, or a cauliflower? What a cauliflower is is fixed, let us suppose, by nature. According to the existentialist, this is not true of the human being. That is, what is true of us is, at least in part, a function of what we say or think about ourselves, how we live our lives. We are, as it is sometimes said, self-interpreting animals; as such, freedom is fundamental to the kinds of beings we are. Consequently, we bear a kind of responsibility for what is true of us that the cauliflower does not, and nothing can disburden us of that responsibility. What, if anything, can have authority for me, in view of my radical freedom? Can anything, and, if so, does nothing? What can authority even mean in such circumstances? What does obedience to such authority look like? In what ways can authority and obedience be deformed? Such questions are not unique to the philosophical movement known as existentialism, but it is characteristic of the latter that it so consistently leaves the asking and answering of them entirely to the individual, particularly concerned as it is with the various ways in which we tend to disown responsibility for asking and answering them ourselves. Existentialist themes are the stuff of great modern literature as well as of European philosophy in the mid and late 20th century. Our colloquium will focus on one seminal example: Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment, in which a young and impoverished law student Raskolnikov commits an apparently senseless murder with the aim of determining whether morality is truly binding on him. The bulk of the novel is spent trying to decipher Raskolnikov’s peculiar motivations and to understand the significance of his ostensible failure to “step over” morality. In our Colloquium we will read and critically analyse Dostoevsky’s great novel through the lens of Kierkegaard’s Fear and Trembling and Nietzsche’s The Anti-Christ, with an eye to understanding his conceptions of good, evil, and human agency.
