Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A personal Librarian is your "go-to" person in the library. First-year students are paired up with a librarian who will be your individual contact person within the library from day one. Find your Personal Librarian here.
What Librarians Can Do for You
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
- Show you the best places to begin your research.
- Locate the information you need within our library or elsewhere.
- Help you cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
- Judge the quality & reliability of information.
- Teach you how to use information ethically (e.g. avoiding plagiarism).
- Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.
Hours during the Academic Year
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Mon-Thur 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Contact: email@example.com for an appointment.
Note: The library is closed to the general public and open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
More calendar info...
Mark O. Hatfield Library Building
This guide offers you a virtual tour of the library and the resources within the building that are available to you. Check out all of the great things the library has to offer!
Library Home Page ( library.willamette.edu )
Browse for Books
Listed below are the letters and titles of the main classes of the Library of Congress (LC) Classification. Click on any class to view an outline of its subclasses in an interactive PDF format. This list is based off of the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Print Reference Books
Brill's New Pauly
Call Number: MOH Reference DE5 .N4813 2002
Publication Date: 2011
Volume 14, pages 105-111, Tacitus
All Things Julius Caesar: An Encyclopedia of Caesar's World and Legacy
Call Number: MOH Reference DG261 .L67 2015
Publication Date: 2014
Volume 1, pages 381-384, Germans
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Call Number: MOH Reference E 169.1 .O945 2013
Publication Date: 2013
Volume 1, pages 203-209, Classicism
Sports Around the World: History, Culture, and Practice
Call Number: MOH Reference GV706.8 .S664 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Volume 2, pages 383-386, Olympic Games of 1936 (Berlin)
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
Call Number: MOH Reference H41.I58 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Volume 3, Pages 771-777, Classical Legacies
The Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
Call Number: MOH Reference N5610 .G76 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Volume 1, pages 473-474, Flags and Standards
World Film Directors, 1890-1945
Call Number: MOH Reference PN1998.2. W67
Publication Date: 1987
Volume 1, pages 952-957, Riefenstahl, Leni.
Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects: Art & Art History
, Cinema Studies
, Latin American Studies
Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
Oxford English Dictionary
An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Mussolini's Film of Ancient Rome
Ancient Greek and Roman history and culture have long provided powerful ideas and images that have been used in later periods for both good and ill. This course provides an introduction and orientation to some of the key themes and texts from Greek and Roman antiquity as well as to some of the ways in which "the classics" have been used and misused in later eras, and why they continue to be both so relevant and so fraught. Topics to be discussed include politics and government; war and conquest; slavery, race, and gender; and the role of art, architecture, and public monuments. We will explore the enduring power of these classical legacies and why they have been so frequently appropriated to sponsor nationalist, fascist, and alt-right agendas. Can the Greeks and Romans be redeemed? Should they be? How can we come to terms with these ancient legacies that we still live with today?