Research Guides: MUSC 491: Seminar in Music Education: Articles/Databases

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Scholarly Music Databases

Oxford Music Online
Includes The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and most importantly Grove Music Online, which has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001, a glorious compendium of music scholarship offering the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd edition (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd edition (2002).
Music Index Online (1976 - present)
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. Includes book reviews, and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.

Scholarly Education Databases

These are the best databases to use when looking for articles about Education, School systems, School libraries / media centers, Students, Teaching, Teachers or School administration.

ERIC / Education Resource Information Center
ERIC is the mostly widely used Education database on earth, containing more than 1.3 million bibliographic records of journal articles and other education-related materials. When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button. ERIC contains records for: journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, other education-related materials. Journal records always include bibliographic data (author, title, date, journal citation, publisher) and an abstract, or short description of the work. Some journal publishers offer the full text of their articles at no cost directly from ERIC.
Professional Development Collection
Despite the unwieldy title, this database focuses on Education, with full text access to hundreds of research journals and practioner magazines. When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Education Database
Abstracts and indexing of over 900 education journals, many in full-text.
Educator's Reference Complete (from Gale/Cengage)
This is another database that focuses on Education, with full text access to 1,000+ research journals and practioner magazines. When PDF or HTML versions of articles are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willametet" button.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Coverage of libraries, librarians, librarianship, and a good resource for book reviews. Includes coverage of school media centers, school libraries, as well as public libraries. When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Library Account Login

Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.

Lesson Plans

Lesson Plans
A starting point for general lesson plans.
MENC: The National Association for Music Education
Over 700 lesson plans to choose from, using a matrix of choices: 10 types of musical content; 9 types of national standards of involvement, and 6 types of grade levels. Must be a member to access these lesson plans.
TeachNology's lesson plans for Music
Over 70 lesson plans - choose from Music composition, Songs, or Music in general.

MUSC 491: Seminar in Music Education: Articles/Databases