Skip to Main Content Libraries

MUSC 491: Seminar in Music Education: Reference Materials

Related Guides

Electronic Reference Works

Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database. Includes The Oxford Companion to English Literature and The Oxford Companion to English History
The Oxford Companion to Music
This classic reference work includes articles that range from clear, concise definitions of musical ideas and terms to extended surveys of musical forms and styles, with specialist coverage of virtually every musical subject.
A Dictionary of Education
Features entry-level weblinks, a timeline summary of landmark educational legislation since 1945 and a glossary of acronyms.

Print-Only Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML 100 .N48 2001

ISBN: 0195170679

This is also available online as Grove Music Online.
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: ML 102.O6 N5

ISBN: 0935859926
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: Ref. ML 102.I5 N48
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music by H. Wiley Hitchcock (Editor); Stanley Sadie (Editor)
Call Number: Ref. ML 101.U6 N48

ISBN: 0943818362
The Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: Ref. ML 160 .T18 2005

ISBN: 0195222741
Learning Theories by David C. Leonard
Call Number: HAT Reference LB15 .L4695 2002

ISBN: 1573564133

Publication Date: 2002

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Sociology, Spanish, Theatre

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street.

Salem Oregon 97301

library@willamette.edu

Pacific Northwest College of Art Library

511 NW Broadway.

Portland Oregon 97209

pnca-library@willamette.edu