This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

ANTH 231: Native North American Cultures: Articles/Book Reviews

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.

If an article isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  We might have e-access another way or have it in print.  Find it at Willamette

If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

More Tricks for Finding Book Reviews

Go to Google and search the title of the book you're interested in and add in the phrase "book review."  For instance, search for: "Indian spectacle: college mascots and the anxiety of modern America" "book review."  Then look through the results ignoring Pinterest, Amazon and the like and try to spot citations that look like they may lead you to a more academic source and/or a longer, more scholarly review.  

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Google Scholar Search

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Finding Newspaper Articles

The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers. 

Finding Journals Articles, Book Reviews, and More

The databases listed below will be helpful in locating journal articles dealing with Native American issues; many of them will be useful in locating book reviews as well.  Be aware that many of them will also provide citations to other materials such as books, dissertations, conference proceedings and much more.  

  • Note: for information about finding book reviews, click on more...