Skip to Main Content Libraries

MUSC 446: The Music of Wagner: Books, Recordings, etc.

Helpful and Sample Subject Headings

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Criticism and interpretation.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883. -- Ring des Nibelungen.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883. -- Tristan und Isolde.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883. -- Correspondence.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Written works.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Sources.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Dramaturgy.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Aesthetics.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Harmony.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Political and social views.

Nationalism in music.

Wagner, Richard, -- 1813-1883 -- Relations with women.

Wesendonck, Mathilde, -- 1828-1902.

E-Books

The EBL Library is a platform for e-books offering titles in a wide variety of subjects featuring content from hundreds of publishers.

The library now has over 15,000 e-books as part of the Orbis Cascade Alliance's Demand Driven Acquisitions Project. Access to EBL is limited to current students, staff, and faculty of Willamette

EBSCOhost eBooks is a collection of over 4,700 online books with subject strengths in reference, computer science and the Northwest.

It also includes books from regional university presses and Choice Outstanding Academic Titles.

Note: At this time the only way to read the EBSCOhost E-books is in their viewer.

Multimedia analyses of Wagner's Ring

The Anna Russell Album?
Call Number: HAT AV CD SONYMAS MDK 47252

Includes "The Ring of the Nibelungs" : An Analysis (21:40)
The Ring Disc : An Interactive Guide to Wagner's Ring Cycle
Call Number: HAT E-Media M1500.W13 R65 1997

Wagner's entire Ring of the Nibelungen, includes complete piano-vocal score, German libretto with English translation, and running commentary, all synchronized to the music.

Streaming Music Databases

Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
American Song
Includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
Jazz Music Library
The largest and most comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.
Contemporary World Music
Contains important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Searching the Catalog

Catalogs
Databases
Journal Finder
Reserves
Guides

Willamette University, Summit and Beyond

Advanced Search

see also: WU Catalog Only

Research Databases

ALL
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z

Books (Print)

Metaphors of Depth in German Musical Thought by Holly Watkins
Call Number: Summit Only

ISBN: 1107010918

Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Wagner's Ring: A Listener's Companion and Concordance by J. K. Holman
Call Number: E-Book from EBSCOhost

ISBN: 157467014X

Publication Date: 1996
Wagner in Performance by Barry Millington (Editor); Stewart Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML410.W19 W12

ISBN: 0300057180

Publication Date: 1992-07-29
The Legends of the Wagner Drama: Studies in Mythology and Romance by Jessie Laidlay Weston
Call Number: In Summit Catalog

ISBN: 1103968300

This is also available online as The Legends of the Wagner Drama.
A Companion to Wagner's Parsifal by Katherine R. Syer (Editor); William Kinderman (Editor)
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML410.W17 C66 2005

ISBN: 1571132376

Publication Date: 2005-08-29
Finding an Ending : Reflections on Wagner's Ring by Philip Kitcher
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML410.W15 K57 2004

ISBN: 0195173597
Wagner Rehearsing the 'Ring' : An Eye-Witness Account of the Stage Rehearsals of the First Bayreuth Festival by Heinrich Porges
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML410.W2 P853 1983

ISBN: 0521107180
Essays of Three Decades by Thomas Mann, translated from the German by H. T. Lowe-Porter
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks PT2625.A44 A23 1971

Contains the essay, "Sufferings and greatness of Richard Wagner. 1933".
In Search of Wagner by Theodor Adorno ; translated by Rodney Livingstone
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML410.W1 A5953 1991
The Birth of Tragedy, and The Case of Wagner. by Friedrich Nietzsche, translated, with commentary, by Walter Kaufmann
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks B3313.G42 E55 1967

ISBN: 0394703693

This is also available online as The Case of Wagner.
Imagined Germany : Richard Wagner's National Utopia by Hannu Salmi
Call Number: In Summit Catalog

ISBN: 0820444162
Major Critical Essays : The Quintessence of Ibsenism, The Perfect Wagnerite, The Sanity of Art by Bernard Shaw
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks PR5364.M3 1986

ISBN: 0140450297

This is also available online as The Perfect Wagnerite:
A Commentary on the Niblung's Ring.
Vocal Victories : Wagner's Female Characters from Senta to Kundry by Nila Parly
Call Number: In Summit Catalog

ISBN: 8763507714
Style and Idea : Selected Writings of Arnold Schoenberg
Call Number: HAT Stacks ML60.S374 1975

ISBN: 0520052943

Contains the essay "Brahms the Progressive"

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street.

Salem Oregon 97301

library@willamette.edu

Pacific Northwest College of Art Library

511 NW Broadway.

Portland Oregon 97209

pnca-library@willamette.edu