Research Guides: MUSC 446: The Music of Wagner: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area.

The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Useful Databases for this Course

Oxford (Grove) Music Online
has been the leading online resource for music research since its inception in 2001. A glorious compendium of music scholarship, it contains the online version of the classic The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. Includes book reviews, and reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Oxford (Grove) Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Dictionary of Art, produced by Grove, as well as online versions of the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 12 million pages are now available.
MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to over 3,000 journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, and working papers.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Philosopher's Index
Provides indexing and author-written abstracts to the international literature of philosophy. Over 570 journals from 43 countries are covered, comprising 80% of the database, with the remaining 20% covering books and anthologies.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
ATLA Religion Database
Contains citations from journal articles, essays within multi-author works, book reviews, and doctoral dissertations focusing on religion and theology, from around the world.