Skip to Main Content Libraries

MUSC 446: The Music of Wagner: Reference Materials

Encyclopedias and More

Oxford Music Online
Contains the online version of the classic New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, as well as online versions of the Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography
Shelved in front of Doreen's office.
Nineteenth-century German writers, 1841-1900
Call Number: Ref. PN771 .D43 v.129
Good article about Wagner's literary life.

Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Wagner Werk-Verzeichnis (WWV) : Verzeichnis der musikalischen Werke Richard Wagners und ihrer Quellen by John Deathridge, Martin Geck, Egon Voss
Call Number: HAT Reference ML134.W134 D285
ISBN: 3795722012
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: HAT 2d Floor Stacks ML 100 .N48 2001
ISBN: 0195170679
This is also available online as Grove Music Online.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics by Michael Kelly (Editor)
Call Number: HAT Reference BH56 .E53 1998
ISBN: 0195113071
Publication Date: 1998
This is also available online in the database Oxford Art Online.
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: ML 102.O6 N5
ISBN: 0935859926
New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments by edited by Stanley Sadie
Call Number: Ref. ML 102.I5 N48
The Oxford History of Western Music
Call Number: Ref. ML 160 .T18 2005
ISBN: 0195222741

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street.

Salem Oregon 97301

library@willamette.edu

Pacific Northwest College of Art Library

511 NW Broadway.

Portland Oregon 97209

pnca-library@willamette.edu