Research Guides: IDS 101: Media, Consumption and Culture: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.

Useful Databases for this Course

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present.
ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

IDS 101: Media, Consumption and Culture: Articles/Databases