Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
US Government Agencies
These are links to US government sites that deal with geology. The US government publishes a huge amount of information, particularly with respects to US geology.
State Geological Surveys
State geological surveys are great places for local geology and topographic maps. Different states have different policies about what they make freely available.
State Fish and Wildlife links
Links to the fish and wildlife and environmental offices by state. These are great for local water and environmental information.
This is a search engine that searches documents from all science-related agencies in the US government. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved. The search takes a while for to complete, so you'll need a bit of patience.
fisheries, coasts, oceans, and climate
USGS Science Topics
If you're not sure where to begin on the USGS site, start here - a great index of all the USGS science programs.
Environmental Protection Agency
The EPA has a ton of great information dealing with the environment, but it's a frustrating site to use. I generally start by using the search box on the front page, or going to the A-Z index linked from the upper right corner.
Bureau of Land Management
The BLM deals with mining and national parks, among other things. There's not a lot of information here, but they do have some federal land records and legislation that deals with public lands.
More Web Sites
Associations, Agencies & Programs
- Scholarly and Professional Earth Science Societies
- A list of webpages and gophers affiliated with societies and associations important to earth scientists.
- Environment Canada's Green Lane
- An Internet resource for weather and environmental information in Canada. Green Lane TM helps connect Canadians, exchange information and share knowledge for environmental decision-making (Canada's EPA).
- Endangered Species Program (US Fish and Wildlife Service)
- Well done site containing program information and species lists, policy documents, and photos and reports.
- Environmental and Societal Impacts Group
- Contains information and links concerning the relationship between society and the environment.
- Environmental Protection Agency
- Provides public access to EPA information. Sites of note include Envirofacts (EPA data warehouse), and the Government Information Locator Service.
- FAO Forestry (United Nations)
- A good beginning resource to research international forestry, particularly in developing countries. Includes forest resources, management, production and services, assessment and monitoring, people and forests, sector analysis, institutions, and interdisciplinary issues.
- United Nations Environmental Programme
- Contains links to a number of UN sponsored programs related to the environment and sustainable development.
Conservation and Natural Resources
- Chesapeake Bay Trust
- Contains information about the Chesapeake Bay Restoration Project.
- Conservation Databases (World Conservation Monitoring Centre)
- Provides access to five searchable databases (plants and animals, protected areas of the world, forest statistics and maps, marine statistics and maps, and national biodiversity profiles).
- RadWaste (Waste Links)
- This searchable site contains more than 8,000 links related to radioactive waste management. The content varies from government information on agencies, laws & regulations, technical reports, news, etc.
- State of the World's Forests, 1999 (FAO)
- The full text (in Adobe Acrobat) of the FAO report. Take a look at FAO's World Agriculture Information Centre.
- Status and Trends of the Nation's Biological Resources
- Web-based version of a wonderful publication by the USGS (which is in our Reference area, QH104 .S74 1997 v.1 & 2). Contains information on "the health of the nation's plants, animals, and ecosystems ...It synthesizes existing and new information about birds, mammals, fishes, plants, and other species and summarizes what is known about the status and trends of major U.S. ecosystems. The findings reported here offer valuable insight into both successes and failures in resource management and point the way to better management of biological resources in the future."
Energy & Renewable Resources
- DOE Information Bridge
- Provides access to citations for DOE technical reports from January 1, 1994 to present. The database is searchable by title, author, keyword, subject category and date of publication. Citations include a brief abstract and ordering information.
- Electric Ideas Clearinghouse (EICBBS)
- A bulletin board that provides a forum for information exchange in the areas of energy and the environment.
- EnergyFiles: Energy Science and Technology (OSTI)
- over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. By the Office of Scientific & Technical Information.
Environmental Law & Policy
- Congressional Research Service Reports
- The NLE currently posts 2137 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. This site is maintained by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network
- Provides access to information useful for researchers, policy makers and the general public in the area of global environmental change.
- New Ideas in Pollution Regulation
- Deals with "public policy issues relating to the cost-effective control of pollution in developing countries". Contains working papers, data and other resources.
Environment & Ecology (General)
- Biosphere 2
- Provides access to information on the Biosphere 2 Project, including sensor data and a "cybertour".
- A large, well-organized collection of links to environmental resources on the web.
- Fire Effects Information System (USDA/Forest Service)
- Yet another example of how well the government is utilizing the Internet to disseminate information! This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
- Long Term Ecological Research (LTER) Network
- Provides background on the network, as well as to information gathered via the network and the research sites.
- Color Landform Atlas of the United States
- Sports shaded relief maps, county maps, satellite images and a postscript map for each state.
- Geographic Names Information System
- Contains information about geographic features in the United States. Includes feature name, type, location (including latitude, longitude and elevation), and a list of topographic maps. Also links to the Census Bureau's Tiger Map Server for location and the EPA's site for watershed information on each feature.
- Illustrated Glossary of Alpine Glacial Landforms
- Terms that are commonly associated to Alpine Glacial Landforms are defined, and include images and the occassional map.
- ANON: Another Node on the Internet
- For geosciences, mathematics and computing. Includes the Virtual Geosciences Professor, applications for macintosh computers, and links to Computing & Geosciences.
- Consortium for International Earth Science Information Network
- Here you can search the CIESIN Gateway, access data (China Data Collection, Environmental Treaty Texts the Global Population Database and the Mexico Data Collection), use interactive applications, access information systems and instructional resources, all related to earth science.
- Electronic Volcano
- Provides access to "materials on active volcanoes worldwide, such as maps, photographs and full texts of dissertations and a few elusive documents."
- Global Change Data and Information System
- "A collection of distributed information systems operated by government agencies involved in global change research." Includes data centers, educational resources, research projects and documents.
- Global Change Master Directory
- Provides access to over 3,900 data sets in the area of earth science, including atmosphere, biosphere, land surface, solid earth, and human dimensions of climate change.
- National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA)
- Includes satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
- U. S. Geological Survey
- Contains information about the USGS, including history, contacts, grant and contracts, customer service reports, fact sheets, publications and data. Includes links to other USGS sites (e.i. geology, biology, natural resources, mapping and water resources).
- Global Climate Change: Exploratorium
- Covers information that reflect global change in the atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere. The material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation.
- Global Warming (EPA)
- This excellent site contains information on global warming, climatic change and the greenhouse effect.
- Greenhouse Gas Online: All About Greenhouse Gas Science (University of Edinburgh)
- Provides incisive summaries of current events and issues related to the Greenhouse Effect, such as global warming, sources of greenhouse gases, carbon dioxide sinks, sunspots, and international agreements.
Meteorology and Climatology
- National Geophysical Data Center (NOAA)
- Contains satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
- State of the World's Children (UNICEF)
- Although the main topic of this site is nutrition and malnutrition, there is also a treatment of population issues and how they effect world hunger.
- World Food Summit (UN FAO)
- Provides access to the report and other documents of the World Food Summit, held in 1996 in response to widespread undernutrition and growing concern about the capacity of agriculture to meet future food needs.
- Pacific Earthquake Engineering Research Center
- Provides access to EQIIS (image database), earthquake engineering abstracts, and engineering reports and publications. Headquartered at the University of California at Berkeley.
- Earthquake Information (USGS)
- Includes the information about recent quakes, suggestions for preparedness and potential hazards, general information about earthquakes, and educational resources.
- Southern California Earthquake Center (NSF)
- Wonderful site! Provides access to information and research conducted by the center.