Research Guides: ERTH 121: Earth System Science: Books

Env. & Earth Sci. Books

The Library of Congress classification system is used to group similar subjects together, which makes the collection browsable. Here are some related chemistry subjects and their call numbers.

Click here to view the general Library of Congress outline.

G Geography. Atlases & Maps
G 70.4 Remote Sensing
GA Cartography & Math Geography
GB Physical Geography
GB 400-GB 649 Geomorphology
GB 651-GB 2998 Hydrology GC Oceanography
GE Environmental Sciences GF Human Ecology GN Anthropology GR Folklore GT Manners & Customes GV Recreation & Leisure

Q Science General
QA Math
QB Astronomy
QC Physics
QD Chemistry
QE Geology
QE 28 Historical Geology
QE 36 Geologic Maps & Mapping
QE 38 Environmental Geology
QE 511 Plate Tectonics
QE 351-QE 399 Mineralogy
QE 471 Sedimentary Geology
QE 514 Geochemistry
QE 601-QE 613 Structural Geol.
QE 901-QE 996 Paleobiology
QH Biology
QK Botany
QL Zoology
QM Human Anatomy
QP Physiology
QR Microbiology
R Medicine
S 590-S 599 Soils

WU Libraries Catalogs

Find Books, Movies and More

Earth Science Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Earth System Science by William A. Nierenberg (Editor)
Call Number: QE5 .E514 1991 vol. 1-4

ISBN: 9780685476468

Publication Date: 1991-10-01

This encyclopedia stresses human interaction with all environments on and surrounding the earth, including geologic processes from pure geology to the atmosphere and space.
Encyclopedia of Paleontology by Ronald Singer (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QE703 .E523 1999

ISBN: 1884964966

Publication Date: 1999-12-01

This encyclopedia includes 328 articles ranging from aardvark fossils to a biography of Chinese vertebrate paleontologist Yang Zhungjian. Each entry lists works cited and further reading; biographies list major publications. Finding aids include alphabetic and thematic lists of entries, a list of contributors, and general and taxonomic indexes.
Encyclopedia of Geology by Robin Cocks (Editor); Ian Plimer (Editor); Richard C. Selley (Editor)
Call Number: Reference QE5 .E516 2005

ISBN: 0126363803

Publication Date: 2004-12-16

This unrivaled, five-volume work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, history of geology, and more.
Sciences of the Earth by Gregory A. Good (Editor); Marc Rothenberg (Editor)
Call Number: QE11 .S38 1998 v.1-2

ISBN: 081530062X

Publication Date: 1998-04-01

This surveys the history of geosciences to show the evolution of ideas about the earth. Disciplines (geology, geography, geophysics, oceanography, meteorology, etc.) cover 230-plus articles that describe historical explanations of earthly occurrences, important institutions, major historical issues, and topics that do not fall within mainstream science such as occult philosophy and magic. The emphasis is on Western science, although some other cultures are represented.
Encyclopedia of Minerals by Willard L. Roberts; George R. Rapp; Julius Weber
Call Number: QE355.R6

ISBN: 9780442268206

Publication Date: 1974-09-01

This book describes approximately 2,200 minerals, and includes some color photos and drawings. Each mineral includes the chemical classification/structure, crystal system, class, space group, lattice constants, diffraction lines, optical constants, Mohs hardiness, density, cleavage, habit, color-luster, occurrence/location, and references.
Color Encyclopedia of Gemstones by Joel E. Arem
Call Number: QE392 .A69 1987

ISBN: 0442208332

Publication Date: 1987-02-01

This encyclopedia includes pictures of every major and minor gem in the world. It incorporates technical data about precious stones: dispersion, types of refraction, specific gravity, types of cutting, etc.
Gems by Robert Webster; Peter G. Read
Call Number: QE392 .W37

ISBN: 0750616741

Publication Date: 1995-02-14

Most of the gems include a detailed account of the physical and optical properties of gem materials, plus the theory and use of instruments used in gem-testing.
Encyclopedia of Earthquakes and Volcanoes by David Ritchie; Alexander E. Gates
Call Number: QE521 .R58 2001

ISBN: 0816043728

Publication Date: 2001-06-01

This contains over 1,000 listings range from historical volcanoes and quakes (both famous and obscure) to entries on specific seismic phenomena (parasitic cones to jökulhlaup) and general geological principles, such as plate tectonics and seismic wave types. The encyclopedia also contains a lengthy bibliography, a list of Internet resources, a chronological listing of notable quakes and eruptions, and a handful of unforgettable eyewitness accounts.
The Encyclopedia of Volcanoes by Haraldur Sigurdsson; Bruce Houghton; Steve McNutt; Hazel Rymer; John Stix; Robert D. Ballard (Foreword by)
Call Number: Reference QE522 .E53 2000

ISBN: 012643140X

Publication Date: 1999-10-23

This impressive work covers all aspects of volcanism in nine thematic sections: origin and transport of magma, eruption, effusive volcanism, explosive volcanism, extraterrestrial volcanism, volcanic interactions, volcanic hazards, eruption response and mitigation, economic benefits and cultural aspects of volcanism.
Glossary of Geology by Klaus K. E. Neuendorf
Call Number: QE5 .G37 1973

ISBN: 0922152764

Publication Date: 2005-01-01

This classic reference by the American Geological Society encompasses many subdisciplines of geology: Astrogeology (lunar, meteorites, etc.), cartography, crystallography, economic geology, engineering geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geomorphology, geophysics, hydrology, marine geology, meteorology, mineralogy, paleoclimatology, paleontology, volcanology, structural geology, etc.
Index to Geologic Maps of Oregon
Call number: QE155.I53 1997This lists the available topographic quadrangle maps between 1883-1997. It lists almost all of the maps created by U.S. Geological Survey of Oregon.

Also take a look at the Geologic Map Series (GMS) publications online at http://www.oregongeology.org/pubs/gms/p-GMS.htm

Online Encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online
Provides access to 100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books, plus an encyclopedia, in a single cross-searchable web database. A broad range of subjects are covered, including language, quotations, science, medicine, humanities, the social sciences and business.
Access Science
Access Science is an online science encyclopedia equivalent to the McGraw-Hill's Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. The tremendous resource has over 8,500 encyclopedia articles, 110,000 definitions, 15,000 illustrations and graphics, 2,000 biographies, and more.
Encyclopedia Brittanica
The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.

ERTH 121: Earth System Science: Books

Env. & Earth Sci. Books

WU Libraries Catalogs

Earth Science Encyclopedias

Online Encyclopedias

Willamette University Libraries