Skip to Main Content Libraries

Anthropology: Articles (Databases)

How To Get Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  Find it at Willamette

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection. 

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Help using Anthropological Literature

Anthropology Databases

Databases are how articles are indexed (it just tells you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of the article).  These databases index articles that are related to this subject area. 

The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

  • Academic Search Complete
    Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals. Over 7,300 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. 1965 - present
  • Academic Video Online
    Provides videos with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, performances, news programs and newsreels, and more. Includes more than 70,000 video titles spanning a range of subject areas such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
  • America History and Life
    The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, America, History and Life provides access to scholarly literature from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts over 1700 journals as well as book and media reviews and dissertations. 1910 - present
  • Anthrosource Best Bet
    Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
  • Bibliography of Asian Studies
    Provides indexing to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. Searchable by keyword (any field), author, title, journal, and subject, it may also be browsed by subject, journal or country. 1971 - present
  • Diversity Studies
    Explores cultural differences, contributions, and influences in the global community. This collection includes more than 2.7 million articles from 150 journals, updated daily.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch Best Bet
    Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press. 1984 - present.
  • HLAS Online
    Provides access to books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference proceedings on all aspects of Latin American studies, including Anthropology, Art, Economics, Government and Politics, International Relations, Literature, Music, Philosophy, and Sociology.

Just Starting?

Just beginning your research? Start with this general database when looking for articles in this subject area.

Journal Finder

Journals in the library collection

 

Search for a journal title or browse journals by category

Willamette University

Willamette University Libraries

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street.
Salem Oregon 97301
503-370-6018
library@willamette.edu
Pacific Northwest College of Art Library
511 NW Broadway.
Portland Oregon 97209
503-821-8966
pnca-library@willamette.edu