Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Anthropological Association
"Founded in 1902, the American Anthropological Association (AAA) is the world's largest organization of individuals interested in anthropology." This site has all sorts of information about the association, careers in anthropology, publications, interests groups, (including the National Association of Student Anthropologists), etc.
"Established in 1846, the Smithsonian Institution provides access to some of its museum collections, exhibitions, research documents and more. Check out Encyclopedia Smithsonian listed under Websites A-Z for information on such topics as Anthropology or Native American History and Culture.
Teotihuacan: the City of the Gods
This site is a wonderful resource for information about the archaeology of Teotihuacan, an ancient city in Mexico. Arizona State University oversees the site.
Information on Anthropologists
American Folklife Center
The American Folklife Center in the Library of Congress was created by the U.S. Congress in 1976 through Public Law 94-201 and charged to "preserve and present American folklife." The Center includes full text publications, digital presentations of online collections and links to other resources in ethnographic studies.
Folklore and Mythology Electronic Texts
This site provides electronic access to full-text versions of a variety of folktales and myths from around the world. D. L. Ashliman, Germanic languages and literature professor from University of Pittsburgh, is the creator of this useful collection.
Native Americans/Indigenous Peoples
Affiliated Tribes of Northwest Indians (ATNI)
"ATNI is a nonprofit organization representing 54 Northwest tribal governments from Oregon, Idaho, Washington, southeast Alaska, Northern California and Western Montana. ATNI is an organization whose foundation is composed of the people it is meant to serve -- the Indian peoples." The site contains tribal information including demographics, tribal contacts, tribal web sites, and more.
American Indians of the Pacific Northwest Digital Collection
This site, hosted by the University of Washington Libraries, offers a wonderful digital database of original photographs and documents about the Northwest Coast and Plateau Indian cultures.
Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS)
CWIS is an independent, nonprofit organization and their valuable site contains documents from a number of different associations, tribal governments, and indigenous organizations and has texts of treaties as well.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
This is a digitization of the first few volumes of an out-of-print compilation of treaties, laws, and executive orders between the U. S. Government and Native American tribes compiled by Charles J. Kappler and published between 1903 and 1904. Produced by the Oklahoma State University Library.
The purpose of NativeWeb is to provide a cyber-place for Earth's indigenous peoples. The Americas, from the Arctic to Amazonia, are the focus for this site and it contains a wealth of information on Native Americans.
Traditional Knowledge Initiative
The United Nations University's Traditional Knowledge Initiative "seeks to build greater understanding and facilitate awareness of traditional knowledge (TK) to inform action by indigenous peoples, local communities and domestic and international policy makers."
The purpose of this site is "to make information about culture, language, health, illness and community resources directly accessible to health care providers who see patients from different ethnic groups. EthnoMed is a joint program of the University of Washington Health Sciences Libraries and Harborview Medical Center's Interpreter Services Department/Community House Calls Program (ISD/CHC)."