Science

The National Transportation Library (NTL) maintains and facilitates access to statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels and to coordinate with public and private transportation libraries and information providers to improve information sharing among the transportation community.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics (BTS). Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA) - United States Department of Transportation (USDOT, US DOT or DOT).

Provides info on the Federal Aviation Administration: Aircraft, Airports & Air Traffic, Data & Statistics, Education, and Regulation & Policies.

Contains statistics on aerospace, economic indicators, state-by-state data, facts & figures, charts, and the AIA Year-end Review and Forecast. It also has a compilation of other resources (market forecasts, expert presentations, statistical data books, space reports, federal budgets, contract awards, and government industrial statistics) useful to aerospace researchers.

Established in 1884, the Bureau of Labor Statistics collects information regarding the U.S. civilian labor force. Figures such as the unemployment rate, Consumer Price Index, Payroll Employment Rate, and Import and Export Price Index are all available from the BLS homepage. The BLS website contains more than 500 million individual data points. Raw statistics data is accompanied by publications such as the Occupational Outlook Handbook and the Monthly Labor Review.

Organized under the Department of Transportation Statistics, the Bureau of Transportation Statistics collects information about all aspects of travel and transportation in and into the United States: personal travel, public transportation, and even freight. Data available covers air, land, and sea transportation and is available by region, mode of travel, and subject.

The National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics (NCSES) is the nation's leading provider of statistical data on the U.S. science and engineering enterprise. Data range from private business to the federal government and international statistics on research and development, the science and engineering workforce, the condition and progress of STEM education, and U.S. competitiveness in science, engineering, technology, and R&D.

AQUASTAT is FAO's global information system of water and agriculture developed by the Land and Water Development Division of FAO. AQUASTAT provides users with comprehensive statistics on the state of agricultural water management across the world, with emphasis on developing countries and countries in transition.

A national statistical information system for food and agriculture. CountrySTAT harmonizes and integrates data on food and agriculture coming from different sources. Through a core database, policy makers and researchers can group data across thematic areas -- such as production, trade and consumption -- in order to study relationships and processes.

The FAO Statistical Database is an on-line multilingual database currently containing over 1 million time-series records from over 210 countries and territories covering statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use and population.

Provides statistics on crops, livestock, irrigation, land use, fertilizer, pesticide consumption, and agricultural machinery.

Provides statistics on fish production and primary products.

Provides statistics on imports and exports of woods and paper.

The FAO Fisheries and Aquaculture Department provides advice and objective information to Members to help promote responsible aquaculture and fisheries. To fulfil this role, the Department compiles, analyses and disseminates fishery data, structured within data collections.

Forestry Country Profiles contain statistics on forest and forestry issues on a country by country basis including forest cover, plantations, volume and biomass and fires.

The Global Livestock Production and Health Atlas (GLiPHA), is a user-friendly, highly interactive electronic atlas using the Key Indicator Display System (KIDS) developed by FAO. The atlas provides a scaleable overview of spatial and temporal variation of quantitative information related to animal production and health through the combination of maps, tables and charts.

The PAAT secretariat combines the forces of FAO, WHO, IAEA, and OAU/IBAR to promote integrated trypanosomiasis control through coordinated international action. The ultimate goal is to improve food security and sustainable agricultural and rural development.

Land resource potential and constraints statistics at country and regional level. Statistics are based on various small scale maps and inventories that were not always up to date, reliable or both.

Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.

This site provides the Department and the nation with current information on housing needs, market conditions, maps, income limits, and special HUD programs, as well as research on important housing and community development issues.

The Smart [Urban] Growth Network was formed in response to increasing community concerns about the need for new ways to grow that boost the economy, protect the environment, and enhance community vitality. The Network's partners include environmental groups, historic preservation organizations, professional organizations, developers, real estate interests; local and state government entities.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting, analyzing, and reporting data related to education in the United States and other nations.

State fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.

The U.S. Census of Population and Housing data ranges from our most recent census to the historical decennial census (1790s) conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public.

This site examines U.S. voting election result trends from 1840 to present day.

This lists long-term historical international energy statistics. This site is the Energy Information Administration’s (EIA) primary report of international energy statistics. Many data series begin in 1980 and extend through 2006. Data covers energy consumption and production; overviews of petroleum, natural gas, coal, and electricity, as well as carbon dioxide emissions from the use of fossil fuels, petroleum prices, energy reserves, and population.

The OECD is a forum and knowledge hub for data, analysis and best practices in public policy. They works with governments to understand the driving forces for economic, social and environmental change. They measure productivity and global flows of trade and investment; analyze and compare data to predict future trends; and set international standards ranging from the chemical safety and nuclear power plants to the quality of cucumbers. Includes country statistics, education, GDP, health, inflation, unemployment, economic outlooks, development aid, and more.

UNICEF plays a central role in monitoring the situation of children and women by assisting countries in collecting and analyzing data, helping to develop methodologies and indicators, maintaining global databases, disseminating and publishing data. Major statistics areas include: child survival and health, child nutrition, maternal health, newborn care, water and sanitation, education, child protection, HIV/AIDS.

WRI works with a diverse range of stakeholders to develop pathways toward equitable, low-carbon, and resilient economies that are tailored to local contexts.
It collects information about environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world. It includes a large breadth of statistical, graphic, and analytical data.

Oregon soil survey data consist of maps, text, and tables. The links to the "Online Soil Maps" will take you to the national Web Soil Survey site. The report text can be viewed using an internet browser or downloaded. By the Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS).

Web Soil Survey (WSS) provides soil data and information produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey. It is operated by the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and provides access to the largest natural resource information system in the world. NRCS has soil maps and data available online for more than 95 percent of the nation’s counties. The site is updated and maintained online as the single authoritative source of soil survey information.

Access to over 19,000 earth science & life science data sets in relation to global warming: agriculture, atmosphere, climate indicators, oceans, terrestrial hydrosphere, and more.

Provide water information that benefits the Nation's citizens through publications, data, maps, and applications software. USGS Water-Resources offices are located in every State. Includes national water survey, stream flow conditions (e.g. floods, droughts, water quality, ground water), science topics, water resource programs.

The most comprehensive and widely consulted database on the world's fish species. 30300 species, 266200 common names, 46000 pictures, 41600 references, 1560 collaborators, 23 million hits/month.

OBIS-USA is the US Node of the Ocean Biogeographic Information System, providing the collection and distribution point to OBIS of marine biogeographic records in U.S. waters or collected with U.S. funding. Using the Darwin Core standard, OBIS-USA integrates and makes accessible data on marine species presence, absence, and abundance to aid scientists, resource managers, and decisions makers.