Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).
Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.
Some criteria for evaluating web sites include (click here for more info):
You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site.
General Science Databases
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved.
Science World, by Eric Weisstein, contains encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics.
Technical Reports Collection (DOD)
The Defense Technical Information Center's (DTIC) Technical Reports Collection indexes research reports generated for and by the Department of Defense. It includes report citations and many full-text reports, and all of the citations and reports are unclassified.
Wolfram Alpha's long-term goal is to make all systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone. We aim to collect and curate all objective data; implement every known model, method, and algorithm; and make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything. Our goal is to build on the achievements of science and other systematizations of knowledge to provide a single source that can be relied on by everyone for definitive answers to factual queries.
World Wide Science
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway connecting you to national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of global science sources.
French National Center for Scientific Research (NCSR)
CNRS is the Centre national de la recherche scientifique, or the French National Center for Scientific Research. It is a publicly funded research organization, under the authority of the French Ministry of Research, and is the largest of several French research organizations with the legal status of Public Scientific and Technological Institution (Etablissement public à caractère scientifique et technologique, or EPST, in French.)
Research at CNRS covers all the major fields of scientific research, and is organized into 10 research institutes. A brief description, organization chart, key figures, and other information are all available in the About CNRS section of the web site.