Science: Oregon-Related Resources

This digital library provides info, tools & expertise about natural resources in the Willamette Basin to help people in the Willamette Basin work together toward a more sustainable, healthy environment by using new tools of research, communication and decision-making. The collection cover: How the Willamette Valley might look in 2050, what it looked like in 1851, highlights critical conservation issues and actions today, and focus areas for conservation and restoration.

This resource is devoted to the biodiversity of Oregon. It covers: rare species of Oregon, species ranking [biodiversity], rank definitions, rank documentation, survey and manage assessment, and the endangered invertebrate program.

This displays a variety of information about the Portland metro area, ranging from demographics, to crime and environmental data.

This is a collection of oral histories, images, video, sound files, transcripts, and supporting documents recording these experiences of eleven local community members and influential people from Lane County, Elkton and Waldport, Oregon. Many of the interviewees experienced the trials of growing up in an environment of discrimination and prejudice, and following the attacks on Pearl Harbor, the detainment and removal of rights and freedom at the onset of World War II.

Oregon’s Emergency Farm Labor Service during and immediately after World War II. Acting out of emergency, this service, coordinated by the Oregon State College Extension Service, recruited women, children, Mexican nationals, interned Japanese Americans, German Prisoners of War, American military servicemen, retired folks and other nontraditional workers to fill a void in the agricultural industry, as many farmers and farmhands left their farms to join the military and other wartime efforts.

Oregon Department of Fish & Wildlife's action plan for invasive species threatening Oregon.

Pacific Northwest fish species report from the PacFIN database.

The Oregon Fish and Wildlife Commission approved Oregon's Nearshore Marine Resources Management Strategy in 2005.

Institute for Natural Resources (INR) is a cooperative enterprise bringing the scientific knowledge and expertise of the Oregon University System and other Oregon higher education institutions to bear on natural resource management.

Oregon State University (OSU) invasive species resource list for Pacific Northwest.

This is a list developed by the Oregon Dept of Fish & Wildlife for public awareness of invasive species threatening & dangerous to Salem, Oregon: invasive species, mammals, aquatic plants, birds, aquatic vertebrate, aquatic invertebrate, microorganisms, terrestrial invertebrates, terrestrial plants, and biocontrols.

The Oregon Farm Bureau is the state's largest general agriculture organization.

The Oregon Encyclopedia Project is an authoritative compendium of information on Oregon people, places, events, and institutions. Culminating in 2009 as part of Oregon's state sesquicentennial, the OEP will compile thousands of entries on Oregon history.

Central online repository for key urban planning documents on the Portland Metropolitan area: planning reports, policy records, historical correspondence, and digital images. Includes interactive mapping feature with 60 layers about the region's topography.

This site is Oregon's government interface which provides a ton of publications, statistics, maps, etc. about Oregon which range from education & political to the natural environment, business, and transportation.