Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Wellcome Library
(Image source: Wellcome Library)
The Wellcome Library
One of the world's premier collections in the history of medicine, alchemy, witchcraft, and ethnography as well as modern medical literature. It includes digital books, journals, manuscripts, films, and paintings from the earliest times to date.
Medicine & History of Medicine
Drug Information, Side Effects & Interactions at Drugwatch.com
MedHist is a collection of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge. It is aimed at students and staff working within the further and higher education sectors, although it will also appeal to anyone with a general interest in the subject area.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine [NCCAM]
NCCAM is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). Produced by the NIH.
Focus on quackery-related info that is difficult to get elsewhere. Investigates & lists health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, & misconduct, questionable claims, answers inquiries about products & services, & more.
TOXMAP - TRI and Superfund Environmental Maps
Explores toxic releases and hazardous waste sites in the U.S. from the EPA's Toxics Release Inventory (TRI) and the Superfund National Priorities List (NPL).
TOXNET is a compilation of several databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
WebMD blends award-winning expertise in medicine, journalism, health communication and content creation to bring you the best health information possible. Their Independent Medical Review Board continuously reviews the site for accuracy and timeliness.
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
This is a drug index for the top 200 prescription drugs, medication, and pill identifier in the US. Includes image collections, information on diseases & conditions, dictionary, & quizzes. This is maintained by the private corporation, RxList Inc.
United States Pharmacopeial
The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) is a non–governmental, official public standards–setting authority for prescription & over–the–counter medicines & other health care products manufactured or sold in the United States. USP also sets widely recognized standards for food ingredients and dietary supplements. USP has set standards world-wide for close to 200 years for the quality, purity, strength, and consistency of these products–critical to the public health.