Research Guides: Exercise and Health Science: Human Anatomy

Online Info

Warning: The Web holds a wide variety of information and misinformation, ranging from popular press coverage and advertisements to scholarly communications and grey literature. Be careful when using information from web sites, because it changes often which makes it hard to cite in a paper. The print equivalent is often preferred to electronic sources when citing because the print version is more reliable (it won't disappear as easily).

Always evaluate a web site before using it for research purposes.

Some criteria for evaluating web sites include (click here for more info):

Accuracy
Authority
Coverage
Currency
Objectivity
Purpose
Support

You can always ask a librarian or your professor for an opinion about a specific site.

Health & Medicine

Here are just a few examples. For more health & medicine related resources, please visit the
health & medicine guide.

AIDS Info
Includes information on HIV clinical trials and treatment, experimental drugs and therapies, vaccines, a glossary, federal info, and fact sheets.
Food & Drug Administration
Contains information about the agency itself, as well as links to drug research, cosmetics research, toxicology, etc.

Anatomy

Anatronica
Anatronica is an awesome option for students who appreciate the help of 3D models when studying human anatomy. Includes anatomically accurate, high detail 3D model of human body; easy way of navigating and exploring human body; fast search function over 2500 human body parts; frequent updates and additions for all platforms.
Anatomy Tables
These anatomy tables by the U. of Arkansas Medical Sciences Department review the human anatomy by system and by region: Artery, Bone, Fascia, Joint, Lymphatic, Muscle, Nerve, Topography, Vein, and Viscera; Back, Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum, Upper Limb, Lower Limb, Head and Neck.
Body Mass Index Calculator (New York Times)
The Body Mass Index (BMI) is a fairly reliable indicator of total body fat, which is related to the risk of life-threatening diseases. The score is valid for both men and women, but it may overestimate body fat in athletes and others who have a muscular build. It may also underestimate body fat in older people and others who have lost muscle mass. To determine your BMI: * enter your weight & height, * click "Calculate" & your BMI appears in the calculator
Digitised Diseases
"Digitised Diseases" is an open access resource featuring human bones which have been digitized using 3D laser scanning, CT and radiography. The resource focuses on a wide range of pathological type specimens from archaeological and historical medical collections, specifically examples of chronic diseases which affect the human skeleton for which many of the physical changes are often not directly observable within clinical practice. Of major interest to many will be high fidelity photo-realistic digital representations of 3D bones that can be viewed, downloaded and manipulated on their computer, tablet or smartphone.
Get Body Smart: Interactive Tutorials & Quizzes
An online textbook about human anatomy & physiology. Visually learn about the human body & physiology using interactive Flash animations: skeletal system, muscle tissue physiology, muscular system, nervous system, cardiovascular system, respiratory system, urinary system, and histology.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body (1918 classic)
The Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body 1918 classic publication by Gray, Henry (via Bartleby.com) features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Human Anatomy Learning Modules (Dartmouth Medical School)
Dartmouth Medical School provides learning modules as part of their HAE course on: the back, upper extremities, thorax, abdomen, pelvis & perineum, lower extremities, head & neck. It includes an online anatomy text, medical dictionary, and tutorials for the introduction to radiology & neuroradiology.
Human Anatomy Model, Anatomy & Anatomical Charts
his is a guide to the inner human body, and includes a human anatomy model, plus anatomy & anatomical chart: Skeletal, Digestive, Muscular, Lymphatic, Endocrine, Nervous, Cardiovascular, Male Reproductive, Female Reproductive, and Urinary.
Interactive Human Body, Anatomy Charts, Anatomical Models
This interactive resources allows people to explore the human anatomy. Each topic has animations, hundreds of anatomy graphics, and thousands of descriptive links. Study the anatomy of the human body online using anatomy charts, models and diagrams.
Muscle Physiology Introduction
This is an index to a few aspects of Muscular Physiology: General Overview, the Cross-bridge Cycle, Cellular Energy Stores, Glucose Metabolism, Fat Metabolism, Creatine Phosphate, Fiber Types, Using Histochemistry to Determine Muscle Properties, Fiber Lengths, Physiologic Cross-sectional Areas, Microscopic Structure, Macroscopic Structure, Myofilament Structure, Using Laser Diffraction to Measure Sarcomere Length, Skeletal Muscle Structure, Intrinsic Properties of Muscle, Excitation-Contraction
Muscles of the Face
Smiling, frowning, eating, drinking, and speaking involve the face's 43 facial muscles. The brain controls those muscles with the seventh cranial nerve, located on each side of your face. This resource includes useful info on the face, like an interactive model of the face.
Radiographic Anatomy of the Skeleton
These are review modules for the radiographic anatomy of the skeleton: upper extremities (shoulder, elbow, forearm, wrist, hand), and lower extremities (pelvis & hip, knee, ankle, foot, cervical spine, and lumbar spine)
The Whole Brain Atlas
The Harvard Medical School's neuroimaging of the human brain for: the normal brain, Cerebrovascular Disease (stroke or "brain attack"), Neoplastic Disease (brain tumor), Degenerative Disease, and Inflammatory or Infectious Disease.

Exercise and Health Science: Human Anatomy

Online Info

Health & Medicine

Anatomy

Willamette University Libraries