Research Guides: Physics & Astronomy: Physics Sites

Albert Einstein

(Image source: Wikipedia.com)

Einstein Papers Project
The site allows viewing and browsing of approx. 3,000 high-quality digitized images of Einstein’s writings, available for viewing.

ArXiv
ArXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance and statistics. By Cornell University.
Hands-on-CERN
The purpose of this site is to increase understanding of the most fundamental processes inside matter, and to explain modern research about particle collisions. Gives a thorough, lively, and illustrated description of quarks, leptons, gluons, and more.
National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
This resource by NOAA provides scientific stewardship, products, and services for geophysical data from the Sun to the Earth and Earth's sea floor and solid earth environment, including Earth observations from space.
ScienceWorld
Eric Weisstein's Science World contains budding encyclopedias of astronomy, scientific biography, chemistry, and physics. This resource has been assembled over more than a decade by internet encyclopedist Eric W. Weisstein with assistance from the internet community.

Fusion
Contains information about Fusion Power from UKAEA Fusion at Culham (UK), including an overview of fusion power, background information, information about research conducted at Culham and links to other fusion-related sites.

HepData Search (Durham University)
Provides access to the HEPDATA databases: reaction data, particle properties, HEP experiments, SLAC Preprints, and e-mail IDs of HEP physicists.
Imagine the Universe (NASA)
This site is intended for students age 14 and up, and for anyone interested in learning about our universe.
INSPIRE
This High Energy Physics (HEP) information system, INSPIRE, empowers scientists with innovative tools for successful research at the dawn of an era of new discoveries.
more...less...
The INSPIRE database has been run by the Stanford Linear Accelerator Center (SLAC) since the late 1960's as a database of particle physics literature. SLAC also collaborates with other physics institutions around the world on SPIRES. In 1991 it became the first web-site in North America and now attracts around 50,000 searches per day from particle physicists.