Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Looking for artifacts in Newspapers & other news sources
Here is an example of a search strategy looking for articles about President Trump's inaugural speech:
trump and president* and inaugur* and (address* or speech or speak* or official*)
You could COPY & PASTE this strategy into the search box for any of the following newspaper oriented databases:
Access World News
2,200 newspapers in North America + 1,200 newspapers in other countries + 300 wire services + 200 broadcast news transcripts. Easy to select a geographic area of your choice.
Gale OneFile News
daily coverage of 1,300 English language newspapers from around he world, with strongest coverage of North America, including Christian Science Monitor, and the San Francisco Chronicle.
coverage of over 600 newspapers around the world (does not provide any coverage of North America)
over 100 newspapers and includes transcripts from news programs on NPR, CBS, ABC, FOX, and CNN.
The New York Times
(the recent years only, from Proquest)
covers 1980 to the present.
The New York Times Historical
(does NOT include coverage of most recent years)
covers 1851 to 2010.
(from NewsBank / Access World News)
daily coverage of Portland, Oregon and the surrounding metropolitan area, including Hillsboro, Beaverton, Gresham and Vancouver, WA, and the Oregon counties of Multnomah, Clackamas and Washington.
(coverage runs from 1999 to the present, from Proquest)
daily coverage of Salem, Oregon and the surrounding metropolitan area including all of Marion and Polk counties.
current daily coverage from over 400 newspapers across the USA.
Wall Street Journal
daily coverage of articles business news & general news headline impacting American businesses, since 1984.
Gary Klein (Reference Librarian)
he / him / his
Subjects: Atkinson (AGSM)
Civic Communication & Media
Politics, Policy, Law and Ethics
Rhetoric & Media Studies