Research Guides: CCM 220 Analysis of Public Discourse: Journal Articles

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

Other academic databases

Academic Search Complete (from Ebsco)
This is a good starting place if you need full-text articles -- this is an interdisciplinary database that can limit results to full-text and peer-review (scholarly literature). When PDF or Full Text options are not listed, you can obtain the article by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button.
Business Source Complete (from Ebsco)
Offers the broadest coverage for most business research situations and therefore is also the first journal oriented database for students to turn to, for almost any aspect of Advertising, Marketing, Public relations or Consumer oriented surveys.
Gender Studies Database (from Ebsco)
Covers the full range of gender engaged scholarship including women's studies, men's studies from scholarly & non-scholarly sources. Primary coverage starts in 1972, with some sources going back the 1800s.
GreenFILE (from Ebsco)
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. This is a collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles focusing on a broad range of environmental & sustainable concerns including carbon footprints, global warming, green buildings, air pollution, water pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, energy consumption, and recycling materials.
JSTOR
Full-text. Useful for historical perspectives of a topic. It is the archives of 8 Film Studies titles, as well as 250+ other journals from many disciplines. JSTOR never contains current literature! All articles covered were published 4+ years ago.
MLA International Bibliography (from Ebsco)
Although the primary focus of MLA is language & literature, this also provides access to Argumentation, Media studies, Film studies and communications in general. You can obtain articles by using the "Find It @ Willamette" button. This database also provides access to books & dissertations which do not integrate with the "Find It" button!
Sage Journals Online
Includes coverage of over 30 journals pertinent to Rhetoric & Media Studies since 1999. If you use the "All Sage Content" option, you may find articles that cannot be delivered to you by Sage for free. However, currently enrolled students can obtain them by using our Inter Library Loan Request Forms for free.
Complete list of ALL 190+ databases from Hatfield Library
You can view the entire list of databases available from the Hatfield Library either Alphabetically, or arranged by Subjects / Academic departments.

CCM 220 Analysis of Public Discourse: Journal Articles

What is Peer-Review?

Other academic databases

Willamette University Libraries