Research Guides: REL 227: Paganism: The Religions of Greece and Rome: Articles/Databases

Useful Databases and Websites for all Courses

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Library Account Login

Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Useful Databases for this Course

Annee Philologique
The online version of Annee Philologique, which provides an analytical and critical bibliography of the study of Greek and Roman antiquity. The database contains over 375,000 bibliographic records for the years 1969 to 2001, with 12,500 new records to be added each year.
Religion and Philosophy Collection
Provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Image Databases

ARTstor
Provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.
WU Art Images Collection
The Art Images Collection includes images of archeological sites, buildings, sculpture, paintings, and other art works from prehistory through the 21st century.

Hallie Ford Museum of Art Collections

Hallie Ford Museum of Art Ancient Collection includes over 100 objects, including Egyptian funerary objects, statuettes of Egyptian gods, Etruscan bucchero pottery, Greek black figure pottery, and Roman glass. Type in the word Roman in the Search box to find digital versions of these objects.

REL 227: Paganism: The Religions of Greece and Rome: Articles/Databases