Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Oxford English Dictionary
Oxford English Dictionary
The online version of the classic dictionary. An unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cook books.
Essential Reference Books for Classical Studies
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview
of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include
references and lists of further readings.
The Oxford Classical Dictionary by
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DE5 .O9 2012
Publication Date: 2012
"This established dictionary offers entries on all aspects of the classical world. With reception and anthropology as new focus areas and numerous new entries, it is an essential reference work for students, scholars, and teachers of classics and for anyone with an interest in the classical era"
Brill's New Pauly by
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DE5 .N4813 2002
Publication Date: 2011
"BRILL'S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world."
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition by
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference DF77 .E53 2000
Publication Date: 2000
"The Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition contains 1,000 entries devoted to people, places, periods, events, and themes, examining every aspect of that culture from the Bronze Age to the present day."
Dictionary of Roman Religion by
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference BL798 .A35 1996
Publication Date: 1995
"Dictionary of Roman Religion contains more than 1,400 entries. Among the topics covered are deities and spirits, festivals, sacrifices, temples, altars, cult objects, burial rites, writers on religion, and historical religious events. Different religions within the Roman world are also discussed."
Specialized Reference Books
Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian
Subjects:Art & Art History
, Asian Studies
, Cinema Studies
, German & Russian
, Languages & Linguistics
, Latin American Studies
, Religious Studies