Articles - IDS 101: At Land, At Sea - Home and Away in Ancient Greece

Question Marks

How to Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we do not have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you are off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Just Starting Your Research?

Start with this database when looking for articles in this subject area.

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 8,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multicultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 12,500 journals.

Pertinent Subject Databases

America History and Life
The core database for U.S. and Canadian history and culture, America, History and Life provides access to scholarly literature from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts over 1700 journals as well as book and media reviews and dissertations.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
GreenFILE
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
HIstorical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts over 2,300 journals, as well as books and dissertations. If you are researching the history of USA or Canada, then you need to switch over to the parallel database named “America History and Life”.
MasterFile Premier
This resource covers general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
PsycInfo Database
World's largest database covering psychology and allied fields of psychiatry, mental health, intellectual & emotional development, and human motivations.

Finding Newspaper Articles

The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate a mainstream newspaper article.

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Oregonian
Full text access to the Oregonian, the newspaper of record for the state of Oregon. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
Coverage: 1861 - present
US Newsstream
Provides articles from worldwide news sources.

IDS 101: At Land, At Sea - Home and Away in Ancient Greece: Articles