Research Guides: ARCH 137: Intro to Global Archaeology: Articles Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Useful Databases for this Course

Annee Philologique
The online version of Annee Philologique, which provides an analytical and critical bibliography of the study of Greek and Roman antiquity. The database contains over 810,000 bibliographic records covering Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, art, archaeology, philosophy, religion, mythology, music, science, and scholarly subspecialties such as numismatics, papyrology and epigraphy.
Anthropology Plus
Brings together into one resource the highly respected Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Offers worldwide indexing of all core periodicals, in addition to lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today.
Art Index (1929-1984)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Art Index (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes 300 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, mostly written in English. Also indexes art reproductions.
Bibliography of the History of Art
The most comprehensive art bibliography available worldwide, covering European and American visual arts from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealers
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
GeoRef (1785 - present)
Provides access to over 2,000,000 records for the worlds geoscience literature, including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, and theses.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.

General & Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7,900 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1300 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.

ARCH 137: Intro to Global Archaeology: Articles Databases

How To Find Articles

All Databases at Willamette

Google Scholar

Useful Databases for this Course

General & Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Willamette University Libraries