This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here.

Government: Main

Federal Depository Library Program

This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents.  Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)

The Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) helps safeguard one of our nation's strongest traditions: the public's right to know. Since its establishment in 1813, the FDLP has collected, organized, and preserved information produced by the government and assisted citizens in finding and using that information.

Guide to Government Information

Government Documents

The Mark O. Hatfield Library has been a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program since 1969. We receive approximately 29 percent of U.S. government publications distributed to libraries in physical formats (paper, microfiche, CD-ROM) and online via the Internet. The documents collection is located on the first floor of the library and is arranged by Superintendent of Documents number; selected titles are shelved in the second floor stacks area and are arranged by Library of Congress call number.


Most documents can be located by searching the library's online catalog. All government documents are available for use by members of the Willamette community and the general public. Access to government information on the Internet is available on the library's computers; wireless access is available via the campus and guest networks.

 

Highlights of the Hatfield Library documents collection include:

  • Primary documentation of the United States Congress, including congressional reports and documents, transcripts of hearings, and the Congressional Record
  • Publications of the executive branch, including the federal budget and Public Papers of the Presidents (speeches, addresses, public statements, etc.)
  • Statistical series and current data issued by the Bureau of the Census, the Bureau of Labor Statistics, and the Department of Education

For more information or for help locating a document, contact:

Carol Drost
Associate University Librarian for Technical Services and
Federal Depository Collection Coordinator
Telephone: 503-370-6715
E-mail:cdrost@willamette.edu


Erica Miller
Periodicals and Documents Manager
Telephone: 503-370-6739
E-mail:emiller@willamette.edu

 


or the Hatfield Library reference desk:
Telephone: 503-370-6560
E-mail:library@willamette.edu
IM: hathelp

Accessing U.S. federal depository documents at the Mark O. Hatfield Library

Q. Who may use the U.S. federal depository collection at the Mark O. Hatfield Library?
A. Any member of the Willamette community or the general public is welcome to use the collection.

Q. May I check out U.S. government publications?
A. Yes-- if you are a Willamette University student, faculty or staff member; if you have a Willamette Community Borrower's card; or if you have borrowing privileges at an Orbis Cascade Alliance member library. Others may use U.S. government publications here in the library. Government documents are available for Interlibrary Loan.

Q. How do I obtain government publications not held by the Hatfield Library?
A. Willamette students, faculty, and staff may request government publications via the Summit catalog or through Interlibrary Loan. Information on Oregon's Regional Federal Depository Libraries' areas of collection responsibility can be found here. Please ask at the reference desk for further assistance.

Q. How do I access U.S. government information on the Internet if I am not a member of the Willamette community?
A. The Hatfield Library has three computers designated for public Internet access. Wireless access is available via the campus public network. Please ask at the reference desk if you need assistance.

Q. Can I print out U.S. federal depository documents at the Hatfield library?
A. Willamette students, faculty, and staff may print from the Internet free of charge; others are charged $.10 per page. The charge for photocopies is $.06 per page with a copycard and $.10 per page if using cash.

Q. Where can I find government web sites on the Internet?
A. Click on the "Web Sites" tab above.

Subject Guide

Carol Drost
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street

Salem, OR 97301