Research Guides: GERM 433: Modern German Literature: Reference Materials

Encyclopedias and More

Oxford Reference Online
100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
Literature Resource Center
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Dictionary of Literary Biography

Dictionary of Literary Biography
ISBN: 0787646555
Shelved in front of Doreen's office.
Austrian Fiction Writers, 1875-1913.
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.81
(Albert Paris Guetersloh)
Austrian Fiction Writers after 1914
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.85
(Peter Henisch)
German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages, 800-1170
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.148
German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages, 1170-1280
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.138
German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.179
German Baroque Writers, 1580-1660
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.164
German Baroque Writers, 1661-1730
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.168
German Writers from the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang, 1720-1764
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.97
German Writers in the Age of Goethe : Sturm und Drang to Classicism
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.94

Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Literaturlexikon : Autoren und Werke Deutscher Sprache
Call Number: HAT Reference PT41 .L5
Encyclopedia of German Literature
Call Number: HAT Reference PT91 .E53 2000
ISBN: 1579581382
Kindlers Literatur Lexikon
Call Number: HAT Reference PN 41 .K53 1974
Gives summaries of literary works and the major criticism of those works. Arranged alphabetically by the title of literary work.
The Oxford Companion to German Literature
Call Number: HAT Reference PT 41 .G3 1997
ISBN: 0198158963
German Fiction Writers, 1885-1913
Call Number: HAT Reference PN771 .D43 v.66
Hermann Hesse, pages 180 - 224.