Research Guides: Exercise and Health Science: Finding Websites

Human Anatomy

This page lists digital resources and websites related to human anatomy.

Anatronica
Anatronica is an awesome option for students who appreciate the help of 3D models when studying human anatomy. Includes anatomically accurate, high detail 3D model of human body; easy way of navigating and exploring human body; fast search function over 2500 human body parts; frequent updates and additions for all platforms.
Anatomy Tables
These anatomy tables by the U. of Arkansas Medical Sciences Department review the human anatomy by system and by region: Artery, Bone, Fascia, Joint, Lymphatic, Muscle, Nerve, Topography, Vein, and Viscera; Back, Thorax, Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum, Upper Limb, Lower Limb, Head and Neck.
Get Body Smart: Interactive Tutorials & Quizzes
An online textbook about human anatomy & physiology. Visually learn about the human body & physiology using interactive Flash animations: skeletal system, muscle tissue physiology, muscular system, nervous system, cardiovascular system, respiratory system, urinary system, and histology.
Gray's Anatomy of the Human Body (1918 classic)
The Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body 1918 classic publication by Gray, Henry (via Bartleby.com) features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.
Human Anatomy Learning Modules (Dartmouth Medical School)
Dartmouth Medical School provides learning modules as part of their HAE course on: the back, upper extremities, thorax, abdomen, pelvis & perineum, lower extremities, head & neck. It includes an online anatomy text, medical dictionary, and tutorials for the introduction to radiology & neuroradiology.
Human Anatomy Model, Anatomy & Anatomical Charts
his is a guide to the inner human body, and includes a human anatomy model, plus anatomy & anatomical chart: Skeletal, Digestive, Muscular, Lymphatic, Endocrine, Nervous, Cardiovascular, Male Reproductive, Female Reproductive, and Urinary.
Muscle Physiology Introduction
This is an index to a few aspects of Muscular Physiology: General Overview, the Cross-bridge Cycle, Cellular Energy Stores, Glucose Metabolism, Fat Metabolism, Creatine Phosphate, Fiber Types, Using Histochemistry to Determine Muscle Properties, Fiber Lengths, Physiologic Cross-sectional Areas, Microscopic Structure, Macroscopic Structure, Myofilament Structure, Using Laser Diffraction to Measure Sarcomere Length, Skeletal Muscle Structure, Intrinsic Properties of Muscle, Excitation-Contraction
Radiographic Anatomy of the Skeleton
These are review modules for the radiographic anatomy of the skeleton: upper extremities (shoulder, elbow, forearm, wrist, hand), and lower extremities (pelvis & hip, knee, ankle, foot, cervical spine, and lumbar spine)
The Whole Brain Atlas
The Harvard Medical School's neuroimaging of the human brain for: the normal brain, Cerebrovascular Disease (stroke or "brain attack"), Neoplastic Disease (brain tumor), Degenerative Disease, and Inflammatory or Infectious Disease.

Human Diseases & Prevention

This page lists digital resources and websites for human-related diseases and disease prevention.

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
This key government center should be your starting place for disease control & prevention. Common issues covered by this agency include disease & conditions, emergency preparedness and response, environmental health, life stages & population, healthy living, injury & violence, traveler's health, and workplace safety.
World Health Organization, Data & Statistics (WHO)
The WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends.
Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASDs)
ASDs are a group of developmental disabilities that can cause significant social, communication and behavioral challenges. The Center for Disease Control (who manages this site) estimates that an average of 1 in 110 children in the U.S have an ASD. It offers info about symptoms, conditions, possible causes of ASD, resources, congressional initiatives, and more.
AIDSinfo
AIDSinfo offers the latest federally approved info on HIV/AIDS clinical research, treatment & prevention guidelines, drugs (FDA approved & investigative), clinical trials, vaccines, health topics related to HIV/AIDS, and more.
Cancer Resources (U Penn.)
OncoLink contains info on specific types of cancer, as well as medical specialties that deal with cancer: treatment, research, coping, clinical trials, and prevention. It contains info useful to anyone researching cancer (personal or scholarly). This site is maintained by the Abramson Cancer Center of the University of Pennsylvania.
Flu.oregon.gov
This resource on Swine Flu (Acute and Communicable Disease Prevention Information on Swine Influenza) is specifically designed for Oregon. Cases of a new strain of influenza known as swine flu are reported. For the latest information of what is happening in Oregon see the Swine Flu Investigation link.
Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
This includes the Society's library of information, facts, and statistics related to leukemia, lymphoma, Hodgkin's, blood cancers, and more.
Mayo Clinic Medical Information & Tools for Healthy Living
The Mayo Clinic covers disease and conditions (a-z of hundreds of diseases), symptom checker, chronic ailments, a first-aid guide, drug and supplement info, natural standard (supplements), and Drug Watch News.
Sickle Cell Information Center (Emory University)
Contains information for health care providers and patients. Includes some full-text publications, information about the disease, and screening information, as well as more general information.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA provides current data and statistics from national data sets. Useful to health educators, students, and researchers seeking grants.

Genomes

This page lists digital resources and websites relating to genomes and bioinformatics.

Clustal Omega Multiple Sequences Alignment
Calculates the best match for the selected sequences, and lines them up so that the identities, similarities and differences can be seen. It aligns the two most similar sequences first, then adds sequences to the alignment in order of similarity.
ExPASy Proteomics Server (Expert Protein Analysis System)
Dedicated to the analysis of protein sequences and structures from sequence databases & experiments: calculate molecular weight, amino acid composition, atomic charge, search for repeated sections of amino acid sequence in proteins, and color-code protein sequences.
Genome (NCBI)
The Genome database provides views for a variety of genomes, complete chromosomes, sequence maps with contigs, and integrated genetic and physical maps. The database is organized in six major organism groups: Archaea, Bacteria, Eukaryotae, Viruses, Viroids, and Plasmids and includes complete chromosomes, organelles and plasmids as well as draft genome assemblies.
Nucleotide BLAST
This tool produces the alignment of two given sequences using BLAST engine for local alignment. Pairwise alignments can be performed on nucleic acids or proteins, & algorithm parameters can be changed to customize the alignment.
Tcoffee
A collection of tools for computing, evaluating and manipulating multiple alignments of DNA, RNA, protein sequences and structures. It seeks the mathematically optimal alignment opposed to hierarchical.
EMBL’s European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI)
This is the world’s most comprehensive range of freely available and up-to-date molecular data resources. It includes a vast catalog of shared human genetic variation in population groups worldwide from 1000 Genomes Project.
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI)
The NCBI houses GenBank, the international depository of publicly available DNA sequences. Subsets include databases for Nuceotide, Core Nucleotide and Protein. BLAST allows searchers to use sequence data to find significant similarities.

Human Health

This page lists digital resources and websites related to human health.

Collaborative on Health & the Environment
Collaborative on Health and the Environment (CHE) is a diverse network of more than 3000 individual and organizational working to advance knowledge and effective action to links between human health and environmental factors. Includes database.
HealthFinder.gov
This US Department of Health & Human Services resource contains valuable information on a variety of health topics. It includes an encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics from the most trusted sources.
Health Information Translations
A Collaborative Initiative to Improve Health Education for Limited English Proficiency Patients.
Medline Plus
Brings you info about diseases, conditions, & wellness issues in understandable language. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free. Learn about the latest treatments, info on a drug or supplement, meanings of words, or view medical videos or illustrations. You can also get links to the latest medical research on your topic or find out about clinical trials on a disease or conditions.
Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans
The U.S. Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion has issued its first Physical Activity Guidelines for Americans that describes the types and amounts of physical activity that offer substantial health benefits to Americans.
Science FirstGov
Science.gov searches over 42 databases and over 2000 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
SAMHSA provides current data and statistics from national data sets. Useful to health educators, students, and researchers seeking grants.
A to Z Health Topics (CDC)
This is a list of common health topics by the Center for Disease Control & Prevention.
Trust for America's Health (TFAH)
Includes statistics, reports, and the health indicator data is available by state and compared to the national average. The data is more extensive than the National Center for Health Statistics.
WebMD
WebMD blends award-winning expertise in medicine, journalism, health communication and content creation to bring you the best health information possible. Their Independent Medical Review Board continuously reviews the site for accuracy and timeliness.

Health & Medical Images

This page lists premier image collections (photo & digital creations) related to the fields of exercise and health science.

The Wellcome Library
One of the world's premier collections in the history of medicine, alchemy, witchcraft, and ethnography as well as modern medical literature. It includes digital books, journals, manuscripts, films, and paintings from the earliest times to date.
Images from the History of Medicine (NLM)
An outstanding collection of images about the history of medicine by the NLM. The collection of 60,000+ images include portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, and more that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Contains hundreds of print quality images related to public health. Includes photos, illustrations, and videos.
Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
This collection includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, it tends to document the history of the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

Medicine & Drugs

This page lists digital resources and websites related to human medicine and drugs.

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). This Web site provides health information providers and the public with a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts. The National Library of Medicine (NLM) provides this as a public service and does not accept advertisements.
Drug Watch
Drug Information, Side Effects & Interactions at Drugwatch.com
MedHist
MedHist is a collection of evaluated, high quality Internet resources and websites relating to the history of medicine and allied sciences, covering all aspects of the history of health and development of medical knowledge. It is aimed at students and staff working within the further and higher education sectors, although it will also appeal to anyone with a general interest in the subject area.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health [NCCIH]
NCCAM is the Federal Government's lead agency for scientific research on complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). Produced by the NIH.
Quackwatch
Focus on quackery-related info that is difficult to get elsewhere. Investigates & lists health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, & misconduct, questionable claims, answers inquiries about products & services, & more.
RxList
This is a drug index for the top 200 prescription drugs, medication, and pill identifier in the US. Includes image collections, information on diseases & conditions, dictionary, & quizzes. This is maintained by the private corporation, RxList Inc.
United States Pharmacopeial
The United States Pharmacopeia (USP) is a non–governmental, official public standards–setting authority for prescription & over–the–counter medicines & other health care products manufactured or sold in the United States. USP also sets widely recognized standards for food ingredients and dietary supplements. USP has set standards world-wide for close to 200 years for the quality, purity, strength, and consistency of these products–critical to the public health.

Nutrition

This page contains links to websites that contain information related to human nutrition.

Food Regulation: US Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
Contains a ton of food safety information: National Food Safety Initiative, biotechnology, food additives, labeling, pre-market approval, Foodborne Illness and Bad Bug Book (Foodborne Pathogenic Microorganisms and Natural Toxins), pesticides & chemical contaminants, and the Seafood and Regulatory Fish Encyclopedia (Fish Images).
FoodSafety.gov
The federal government uses this site to better communicate food safety information to the public: info about food recalls, automatic alerts (via email or social networks), keeping food safe, food poisoning, inspection & compliance, meat, poultry, & fish, eggs & dairy, fruits & vegetables.
Calorie Counter Database
Calorie Count doesn't prescribe a particular diet. Eat any foods you want as long as you burn calories. It includes information to calories in both foods & activities.
Dietary Supplement Regulation: US Food & Drug Administration (FDA)
The Food & Drug Administration (FDA) regulates dietary supplements under a different set of regulations than those covering "conventional" foods and drug products. This resource includes general info on supplements, sales information, guidelines, warnings and safety information, industry information & regulations, and a questions & answers section.
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) Database
This resource indexes citations & abstracts from published, international, and scientific literature on dietary supplements. IBIDS is a collaboration between two US government agencies: the Office of Dietary Supplements of the National Institutes of Health, and the Food & Nutrition Information Center (FNIC).

more... less...

The PubMed Dietary Supplement Subset succeeds the International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS) database, 1999-2010, which was a collaboration between the two U.S. government agencies, ODS and United States Department of Agriculture National Agricultural Library.
National Nutrient Database (USDA)
Search the nutritional content of over 5,900 foods. The USDA compiles these national standards for food nutrients.
USDA Choose MyPlate
United States Department of Agriculture food nutrition recommendations Choose My Plate

Organizations & Institutes

This page lists professional organizations related to the fields of exercise and health science.

American Association of Anatomists (AAA)
In addition to being the primary educators of medical students in their first year of medical school, AAA members worldwide work in imaging, cell biology, genetics, molecular development, endocrinology, histology, neuroscience, forensics, microscopy, physical anthropology, and numerous other exciting and developing areas. Anatomy is a vibrant and growing discipline, truly the backbone of biomedical science.
American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM)
The American College of Sports Medicine is one of the largest sports medicine and exercise science organization in the world. It is involved in a wide range of medical specialties, allied health professions, and scientific disciplines. This site is geared towards those in the Exercise Sciences and Clinical Sports Medicine fields.
Human Anatomy and Physiology Society (HAPS)
This organization is geared towards teachers of anatomy & physiology education, ranging from high school to graduate schools throughout the world.
American Council on Exercise
American Physical Therapy Association
American Physiological Society
American Public Health Association (APHA)
American Society of Exercise Physiologists
Australian Association for Exercise and Sports Science (AAESS)
Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology
Gatorade Sports Science Institute
National Athletic Trainers Association
National Council on Aging
National Heart, Lung and Blood Institute
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
National Strength and Conditioning Association
North American Society for Pediatric Exercise Medicine

Exercise and Health Science

Willamette University Libraries