Research Guides: Exercise and Health Science: Finding Articles

Finding Articles

Start with this general database when looking for articles in this subject area. Databases are a collection of million of articles in a specific field of study and may provide links to the full-text of an article.

Academic Search Complete covers many fields of study including the life sciences.

PubMed
Provides access to over 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Pubmed provides links to some full-text articles and related resources.
Science Direct
A major collection of science, technology and medicine research. Coverage is strong in the life and physical sciences. Access 1998 - present

Willamette Subscribes to the collections of Life Sciences, Health Sciences, and Physical Sciences and Engineering.
BIOSIS Previews
Covers life sciences and biomedical research: biology, micro & molecular biology, botany, zoology, ecology, environmental science, agriculture, biomedical, nutrition, biochemistry, and public health. Access ranges from 1990 - present

How do I know if a journal is peer-reviewed?

Most article databases, including the library catalog, have an option to limit results to peer review. If there is not an option to limit, try adding "peer review" as a search term. Many databases like Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) indicate whether an article is peer reviewed.
The easiest way of determine whether a journal is peer reviewed is by using the library's catalog. Search the library's catalog for the title of the journal, and the results will indicate whether it is peer reviewed. If there is no indication, then it is not peer reviewed.
Visit the journal or publisher's website. Publishers will highlight whether a journal is peer reviewed in the description of the journal.

NOTE: Even thought a journal is deemed peer reviewed does not mean every article in the journal is peer reviewed. Book reviews, editorials, etc., do not qualify as peer reviewed. For more information, visit our guide about Peer-Review.

For more in-depth research

The full list of WU databases is available by alphabetic list, subject, or type of resource.

Alt HealthWatch
Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. Full text is available for more than 140 publications in the collection, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Full text goes back as far as 1990, indexing and abstracting goes back to 1984. 1990 - present
Gale Academic Onefile
Provides millions of peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. 1980 - present
Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Health and Medicine
Multi-source database provides access to the full text of nursing and allied health journals, plus a wide variety of personal health information sources. 1980 - present
Health and Wellness
Covers roughly 400 health and medical journals, pamphlets, health-related videos, and over 2,200 general interest publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Covers roughly 700 periodicals that research nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. 1984 - present
Magill's Medical Guide
An up-to-date and easy-to-use compendium of medical information suitable for student research as well as general readers. Includes information on diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, and more.
Science
The world's leading journal of original scientific research, global news, reviews, short features, and commentary in all fields of science. 1997 - present
SPORTDiscus
Provides comprehensive international coverage on research about sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education, and more. 1949 - present
SpringerLink
Includes more than 600 peer-reviewed journals, comprising more than 600,000 individual documents. Most titles include complete back issues to 1996. 1996 - present.

Journals in the library collection

Search for a journal title or browse journals by category

Exercise and Health Science

Willamette University Libraries