Research Guides: Civic Communication &amp; Media: Finding Websites

American RadioWorks
The national documentary unit of American Public Media, ARW creates documentaries, series projects, podcasts and online content for the public radio system and the Internet. The website includes extensive online documentaries of all ARW projects.
Footage.net: the Stock Archival Footage Search Engine
The world’s largest online aggregator of stock footage databases, providing serious footage researchers with free access to a large roster of stock, archival and news footage indexes online. Returns results by relevance from 30 major footage providers.
Internet Archive: Moving Images
Movies from the Prelinger Archive showing American everyday life, culture, industry, and institutions in the 20thC. Downloadable MPEG-2.
State of the News Media
Since 2004, Pew Research Center has issued an annual report on key audience and economic indicators for a variety of sectors within the U.S. news media industry. These data speak to the shifting ways in which Americans seek out news and information, how news organizations get their revenue, and the resources available to American journalists as they seek to inform the public about important events of the day.

Center for Media and Democracy - PR Watch
Center for Media and Democracy is a nationally recognized watchdog that leads in-depth investigations into corruption that undermines democracy, environment, and economic prosperity.
Center for Media and Social Impact
Located in American University’s School of Communication in Washington, D.C., the Center for Media and Social Impact (CMSI) is an innovation lab and research center that creates, studies and showcases media for social impact. CMSI focuses on bridging boundaries between scholars, producers and communication practitioners across media production, media impact and effects, public policy and audience engagement.

Ad Age
Publishes news, analysis, and data on marketing and media.
Ads of the World
An archive of images and videos of over 60,000 ads in a variety of formats from over 50 countries.
Printed Ephemera: Three Centuries of Broadsides and Other Printed Ephemera
Database of digitized online images of broadsides and other printed ephemera from the collections of the Library of Congress. Includes advertisements, menus, catalogs, and more.
Vintage Ad Browser
Collection of print ads organized by theme and keyword-searchable.

Civic Communication & Media